McKeehan Math Tutoring

McKeehan Math Tutoring

New
Offers online services
New
Offers online services

About

I have been teaching children ages 4-14 online for 4 years. I have taught 6,000 online courses to over 1,600 students. In these classes I have taught math, grammar, phonics, and creative writing. I use various teaching methods including drawing, regalia, graphs, and fun illustrations. It is important to me to help you reach your goals in a way that is unique to you. Every student learns differently, so by learning your passions and interests as well as your preferred learning method, I believe we would make a great team! I also have experience homeschooling kindergarten through 8th grade for the last four years.

I have TOEFL certification and experience working with ESL students.


Details

1 employee
5 years in business
Serves Knoxville, TN
Offers online services

Photos and videos


  • No reviews (yet)

    Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

    Frequently asked questions

    With new students I typically begin with basic questions that are easy for them to answer. I do this with a smile and energy, letting them know I am happy to see them. Then, I gauge their response on how to move forward. Typically, they are shy, so I attempt to ask get-to-know you questions, while also given them permission to ask me something about myself. I also explain to them that their understanding is my top priority. Therefore, they can always say, "I have a question," or, "Can you repeat that?" 

    I have 4 years of online teaching experience where I've taught over 6,000 classes to over 1,600 students. I also homeschool three of my children (current grades are 4th, 6th, 8th). I have homeschooled for four years. 
    I also have 20 years teaching children at church in one-on-one settings, small groups, and large classrooms. 

    Typically, I charge $40/hour for instruction

    I first began teaching while I was working as an RN in labor & delivery. I found that my favorite part of the job was teaching classes to expecting parents as well as to new parents. Then, our youngest son was adopted from Ethiopia in 2016. When he came to America he needed to begin kindergarten, but didn't have time to get necessary vaccinations before school started. This began my homeschool teaching journey. After one year of homeschooling him, I began homeschooling our youngest three children. 
    I have been teaching informally in church settings for over 20 years. 

    I have worked with students ages 4-14 with varying backgrounds, cultures, beliefs, and learning styles. I also have experience teaching ESL students. 

    I am fond of my oldest son beginning his college experience and fulfilling his dream of becoming a college athlete. Two weeks ago I sat and watched him start in his first collegiate basketball game. I am very fond of this memory. 

    I would encourage this student to hire someone with a welcoming personality and flexibility. An effective teacher must be able to accommodate differing learning styles through varying teaching methods. 

    1. Have I put in the work expected of me? 
    2. Did I try my best?


    Services offered

    Math