Plathematics

Plathematics

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

Hello!

My name is Zachary Plath and in 2020 I started my own math tutoring company called Plathematics. I have had a core group of students from Orlando, Florida that I worked with consistently over the course of 2 years. I recently moved to Lexington and would love to continue tutoring during my time here. I am 23 years old and have been studying high level mathematics all of my life. I studied industrial engineering at the University of Central Florida. I have tutored classes from pre-calculus all the way to differential equations and logic/proofing courses.

I get the most joy out of having people understand the fundamentals of mathematics and elevating their performance. When we understand the reasoning behind the steps we take, calculations become much simpler. I emphasize this through using multiple examples and using the progressive overload principle. This is when we start with multiple easy problems and progressively increase the difficulty while decreasing the repetitions. 


I look forward to working with you and doing my best to help you understand the foundations of mathematics.

-Zach

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lexington, SC 29072
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to start by getting to know them, both as a person and as a student. By doing this I can best understand how they learn and think to ensure effective instruction. I am example heavy and often prescribe a couple of optional problems for homework. I do this because repetition and exposure is essential to understand the frameworks of mathematics. When a person understands why we do the things we do, the hard problems turn into easy problems with extra steps. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been studying math all of my life. I fell in love with it in 2018 when I switched my major to industrial engineering. I've studied at North Greenville University and the University of Central Florida. I have taken and tutored courses from pre-calculus to differential equations. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Travel/Meet (preferred):

$40 for the first session. $50 every following session


Virtual:

$40 for every session.

Bulk:

I do offer discounts for buying and scheduling sessions in advance. Price is dependent on type of session and how many. 

I also offer discounted sessions if money is tight. My passion is in the teaching. Money should not interfere with learning. 


How did you get started teaching?

In 2020 I got a job as the head coach of the lacrosse team at Lake Howell High School. I started tutoring a few of the guys on the team.  I soon grew outside of the team to develop a consistent core of students that I worked for the previous 2 years. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Basic Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algebra Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Math Tutors Discrete Math Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors