Special Education Teacher With 6 Years Of Experience

Special Education Teacher With 6 Years Of Experience

5.0
1 employee
7 years in business

About this tutor

I graduated Summa Cum Laude from Westminster College in 2013 with degrees in Early Childhood and Special Education. Since then, I have taught third grade at a local private school and 8th grade learning support at Seneca Valley. I teach reading, math, English, and study skills. I also support my students within the inclusion setting for science and social studies. 

I enjoy collaborating with families to provide academic support and mentorship to students. Developing engaging activities which are developmentally appropriate is rewarding  for me. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Pittsburgh, PA 15229
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When I begin working with a new student, I like to give both the family and the student brief surveys in order to see what the student's current needs are. Building rapport with the students is key to long-term success. I also typically perform baseline assessements to help me identify the student's strengths, weaknesses, and learning style. From there, I have more information to better structure our upcoming sessions. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a certified teacher in the areas of Early Childhood Education, Special Education, Middle School Math, and Middle School English Language Arts. I graduated from WEstminster College in 2013 and immediately began working as a classroom teacher. This summer, I will also be finishing up my Master's Degree in Curriculum and Instruction through Gannon. I have been tutoring since I began teaching and I also tutored elementary school students while I was attending college. 


How did you get started teaching?

I always enjoyed helping others and working with children. In high school, I took a Preschool Practicum class and so enjoyed being able to develop hands-on lessons and activities and watching the students carry them out. Teaching is a natural fit for my personality, and it is one of my greatest passions in life. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students ranging from preschool through 8th grade. I have experience working with students with special needs, including ADD/ADHD, OCD, autism, vision and hearing impairments, intellectual disabilities, traumatic brain injuries/concussions, emotional support needs, and medical health issues.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Basic Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Middle School Math Tutors English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Phonics Tutors Proofreading Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Reading Tutors