Deb's Math Tutoring

Deb's Math Tutoring

5.0 (5)
25 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee

About this tutor

My students do well!  I am a RETIRED!!! chemical engineer.  I know math and science well.  I have tutored students after work for 12 years.  I know students well.  I work with a student to find the knowledge holes that cause problems.  I explain the missing concept and then explain it again from a second angle.  I work through the problem with the student and watch him do it again.  When we find and correct holes in the student's knowledge base, he is caught up and ready to excel in his class.  He often finds that he doesn't need a tutor any more -- not great for my business model, but definitely my goal.

I enjoy seeing students succeed and watching their confidence grow.  The biggest sucess is for a student to no longer need a tutor.  That is what it is all about.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

McDonald, PA 15057
Email verified
Phone verified

5 Reviews

5.0

  • Tiffany K Dempsey

    We are just getting started with Deb! She is tutoring my 8th grade son! He has been really struggling in math. I was at my wits end and didn't know what to do for him! Xavier and I were both discouraged. I got a couple of quotes from other tutoring sites which were way out of our price range. I found Deb here and I could tell when I talked to her she was going to be the perfect fit for Xavier! I know he is going to get the help he needs with her and I am so relieved.

  • Kelly R

    We’ve just begun working wit Deb. She seems very knowledgeable and patient! She’s helping my pre calc high school junior.

  • Tricia Davis

    Deb is very knowledgeable about Calculus and quite nurturing. My son really enjoys working with her.

  • Crystal Zuby

    She is great with understanding where my son needs help and meeting him where he is.


Show all reviews

Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I start with a student's homework.  I help the student solve all of the problems assigned.  If it is apparent that the student needs more practice, I find similar problems in the textbook or on the net to reinforce the concepts.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a BS in Chemical Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and an MS in Chemical Engineering from CMU.  I have worked as a chemical engineer for 38 years.  I have tutored students in all levels of math and science for 10 years.  I am more experienced with older kids (grades 10 to college) and higher level classes.  I can help with any level of math and science.  I'd rather be teaching pre-calculus or college calculus III than pre-algebra.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $50/hr.  If I student needs help with two subjects, I try to get them both in one session, depending on how much help the student needs.


How did you get started teaching?

I helped my classmates when I was in college.  I helped my kids and my friends' kids.  Later, I tutored for some tutoring services.  I have my unique and very caring ways and prefer to tutor for a student/family directly without a tutor service providing rules.  Every student's needs are different.  I care very much about each individual student and will work very hard to help them succeed.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with children 8 years old to college.  I have worked with adults.  I have taught pre-algebra to college Calculus III.  I have taught chemistry, honors chemistry, AP chemistry, college chemistry.  I have taught general physics, SAT, ACT.  I have not taught anything that doesn't fall under STEMS.  I have taught some students for just one session and some students for 3 years.  All of my students progress until they don't need a tutor.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I tutored a student who had trouble with geometry, algebra II, pre-calculus.  She got her first B in math in pre-calculus.  She went to college and got an A in college math without a tutor.


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Analytical Geometry Help Tutors AP Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors AP Physics Tutors ASVAB Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Chemistry Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors College Math Tutors College Tutors Problem Solving Help Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Geometry Tutors Homeschool Tutors Homework Help Tutors