Patricia 'Gail' Boker

Patricia 'Gail' Boker

New
New

About

There is a real enjoyment felt when a child or adult student understands or grasps the new word, idea or function I am explaining. My work is targeted to the particular needs of each student. Everything I plan in a lesson is for their indivudual benefit and hopefully their learning.

In my planning of lessons, I research way beyond what is needed for one lesson. I have learned a great deal in my research about dyslexia in children and in adults. My love of being in school and learning new subjects has never lessened.


Details

Hired 3 times
Serves Maineville, OH

No reviews (yet)

Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

Frequently asked questions

An in-person meeting is the best way to meet parents and students.  Next best way is a phone call or zoom meeting.  Preferably reviewing the students schoolwork is valuable to assess where to start any academic lesson plans. The in person meeting allows the parent and myself to determine if we are a good fit for each other.  

My formal education totals 129 college credit hours in Math Major, English Minor, Accounting Minor and Teaching grades 7-12. I did not get a teacher certification but went into accounting and tax work. I retired from Fed. Govt. as  IRS Revenue Agent in 2010. I started tutoring to supplement my retirement.

My hourly rates have been at $30/hour to start, went up to $35, then $40. However I can negotiate the rate if needed by the family. 

My college studies were aimed at teaching math and English for grades 7-12. However, I was unable to afford financially beyond the 2.5 years full time classes.  The remaining hours included completing the "student teaching" hours which is done in a local classroom.  I switched to accounting and tax work in clerical jobs. Then ended my career as IRS Revenue Agent in 2010.  After retirement, I began tutoring to supplement my retirement. 

My experience has been varied from children to adults and from foreign students to English speaking students.   It has  mostly been elementary subjects, reading, writing, math,  comprehension and composition, for children.  Also including English as 2nd language for one Chinese 1st grader.  I have worked  at tutoring for over 3 years.  

When my grandson is at my home, I use my tutoring materials with him.  I have seen him learn his ABC's. and count all the way to 30. He can write his letters and many words as well as his numbers to 30. This process has given me a great joy as it oud be for any grandparent. The joy is practically the same with any of my students learning new things and ideas.


Services offered

Esl