Basia Math Tutoring

Basia Math Tutoring

5.0 (4)
3 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I graduated my undergrad with honors with a degree in Biomedical Engineering from the University of California, Merced.

During my undergrad, I was a private tutor for 2 years in math and science, tutoring kids in grades 5th-11th. I can tutor in all kinds of math from basic algebra to trigonometry to calculus.

Currently I am getting my PhD in Biomedical Engineering at the Ohio State University. 

LinkedIn Account: https://www.linkedin.com/in/basia-gabela-zuniga-11777aa5/

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Columbus, OH 43201
Email verified
Phone verified

4 Reviews

5.0

  • Meka Willis

    Basia is a wonderful math teacher who has an extensive understanding of ALL mathematics. Basia always had a caring attitude towards our daughter and ready to support her with any struggles toward this subject. We loved her drive to teach and motivate our daughter making herself available to talk with our daughter on a regular basis to help her acquire the right problem-solving skills applicable to be successful in math. Basha gave our daughter many new tools to help her gain more confidence in the classroom and because of her our daughter is now soaring with this subject.

  • Owen Himes

    Not only did she help me with stuff I struggled with in calculus, but she helped give me a drive to work on my assignments. As a student, I’m very thankful to have had her help.

  • Sarah Johnson

    I liked how nice and understanding she was. I wasn’t afraid to ask questions when I was confused on a certain topic.

  • Stefanie Freitas

    Basia is patient with her students. If she is unsure of how to teach a math concept she does her research. I have recommended her to many of my friends who had children struggling in school. They have all been pleased with her tutoring abilities. I would highly recommend her to anyone in need of a tutor.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My typical process with a new student invovles meeting the student prior to our first tutoring session to get to know them/meet their parents. Upon ensuring that we are a good match and learning more of what the student is learning, I come back for the first session! I am quick to learn the best method of learning for the student whether that be making simplier practice problems off the top of my head or creating steps so the student can solve the problem more easily. I am very patient and willing to spend time helping a student learn!


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have an undergradaute degree in Biomedical Engineering. While in school, I took all kinds of math courses from algebra to statistics to differential equations to calculus I-III! 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$30/hour. 


How did you get started teaching?

Originally I was referred by someone to tutor a student becasue the tutor was moving. From word of mouth of that student's mother, I gained more students who also needed help in all age ranges.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with male and female students as young aas 5th grade and old as 11th grade, but I have no problem working with younger or older students of any age! 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

In my area of expertise, it is important that a tutor have experience in high level math and tutoring students of many different ages. Also, it is improtant to have a tutor that can adapt to a student's learning ability and what works best for that student. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algorithms Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors