Perez Tutoring And Educational Services

Perez Tutoring And Educational Services

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I have almost 10 years of experience working in both general and special education settings. I have experience working with students from 6 months of age to adults studying for the GED, getting students into college, and in all subject areas. I currently work as a Teacher of the Deaf/Hard of Hearing and I also have experience working with individuals who are deafblind. I, myself, grew up in an urban, low socio-economic area. This is where I learned the value of a quality education and how important it is to have people behind you, believing in you. I have thus worked with students from all walks of life.

I  bring all these different settings, experiences, and expertise with me when I am tutoring my students one-on-one. I work with students in ELA, Math, Science, Social Studies, and even college classes. I also have worked with students on life-skills and transition based services. 

I have both a Bachelor's and Master's degree. I am also a certifed teacher in Texas, Ohio, and New York state. This shows my passion, dicipline, and dedication for education and teaching students. 

I love working with all kinds of students (of all ages). I love helping them see they are capable of doing the work, and then some. A lot of students feel like they "can't" or struggle with self-esteem. I love making school more approachable for them and helping them learn life skills like persistence, confidence, and adovating for themslves that will help them far after they finish high school. I love those "Ah-Ha" moments! That's why I got into teaching. I really can't imagine doing anything else for a career that doesn't invlove teaching and working with students! 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Troy, NY 12180
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to do a meet and greet for the first visit. Here, I will do a preassessment where we will also discuss issues the student is having, how long they've been going on, what's worked and what hasn't, and so on. I will spend the first 30 minutes trying to get to the know student, first. It is very important to me to build a solid, positive rapport with my students. I continue to build upon this rapport and enjoy getting to know my students more as we work with each other. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a professional teacher. I have spent the past 10 years training and studying to be the best teacher I can be in all types of situations that are thrown my way. (Part of being an itinerant teacher is learning how to do your best work while thinking on your feet!). 

I have my Bachelor's degree in Social Studies/History and my Master's in Special Education with a focus on Deaf Education. I have been through 2 teacher preparation programs to obtain each degree so I am aware of best practices and multiple modes of learning for students of all ages and abilites. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge a standard, flat price of $45/hour. I generally only travel up to 20 miles away from my home location of Troy, NY. If it is requested I travel more than 20 miles, I charge an addition fee of $2 per extra mile. 


How did you get started teaching?

I always knew I wanted to work in a career where I helped people and/or animals since I was a child. When I was in high school, I decided I wanted to be a teacher. I went on to college at the University of Texas- Austin to obtain my Bachelor's degree in Social Studies/History with a minor in Education. Here, I joined the teacher prepatory program UTeach, where I got a great foundation of skills to be a teacher and honed my craft for my passion of helping people. 

After spending one summer with my nephew who was only 4 months old, I realized he was linguistically behind. He was having trouble communicating his needs/wants and, thus, was becoming frustrated and throwing tantrums more and more often. This summer, I decided to teach him ASL (which was my foreign language taken at UT-Austin). It was in this moment I realized I wanted to move on to get my Master's degree in special education and to work with students with hearing impairments. (I also had been working at the Texas School for the Blind as a Residential Instructor working specifically with students who were Deaf-Blind since I knew ASL.)

I then went on to spend the next 2 years at Kent State University in their M.Ed in Special Education/Deaf Education program where I also took many classes on Early Childhood development. While living in Kent, Ohio, I also spent those 2 years employed as a substitute teacher for Kent City schools.  


What types of students have you worked with?

I work with ALL kinds of students. ALL ages and (nearly) ALL subjects. It's really easier to tell you what I DON'T teach: Statistics, Organic Chemistry, Spanish 2 and up, ASL 3 and up. I DO work with college students and also work on PSAT, SAT, ACT, and GED prep. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Make sure they are a certified teacher. It doesn't have to be in the specific subject you are looking for if they are certified in an "all ages" field. This would be something like SPED or reading specialists. As special education teachers, we are trained to know best practices AND modificaitons to make the "general" cirriculum more reachable for students who might struggle a little more than others. 


Services offered

American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Math Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Poetry Writing Classes Proofreading Tutors