KMC Math And Science Tutoring

KMC Math And Science Tutoring

5.0 (2)

About this tutor

I graduated from Emory University in 2017 and have been working as a junior research scientist at Columbia University. As a high schooler, I started turoring students in Math. I then continued as a Math tutor and Biology Supplemental Instructor in college. With multiple years of teaching, I am highly aware of the different learning styles of students and am always able to cater my teaching style to individual students. 

I particularly enjoy witnessing the progress my students make throughout my time with them. It is always my honor and pleasure to teach and guide students through difficult courses. I hope to be your child's tutor because I believe every child deserves someone who is patient and knowledgeable on certain subjects. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

New York, NY 10024
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Christina

    I had her as a tutor in college and she was very patient and helpful. I've worked with other tutors before but Karina is by far the best I've had.

  • Emily

    Karina is very knowledgeable and cares deeply about her students. I had a great experience with her and my grades improve significantly over a short period of time. Would definitely recommend her!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to first chat with the student about their learning style and ask them what areas they are struggling in. I would also ask them to show me their learning material (either from school or outside school) so that I have a better sense of what their syllabus looks like. Afterwards, I like to set some goals with the students, and I always make sure to help them set realistic goals so that their confidence will continue to increase.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been a tutor for the past 7 years and I am very comfortable with adjusting my teaching style according to individual student.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I usually charge $60 per hour for middle and high school students, and $80 per hour for college students. My sessions are normally one hour because I want my students to fully absorb the material of that session before moving onto new topics. 


How did you get started teaching?

When I was a junior at my high school, my math teacher quickly recognized my ability to clearly explain concepts to my peers and recommended me to start teaching. I have been teaching/ tutoring ever since. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have tutored individual students on both math and sciences. I have also taught a group of students as a Biology supplemental instructor (similar to teaching assistant) in college. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I'm a huge fan of cooking and baking. In fact, that's my go-to stress-relieving exercise! My most recent breakthrough is this amazing cookie recipe that I improvised! :)


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

For any subject, you would want to hire a teacher who is knowledgeable in that field and is patient in explaining confusing concepts.  


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

I always suggest to my students to think about what are their learning styles. Every student learns differently and tutoring is only effective if the tutor can cater to your specific needs. If you do not know your learning style, that's okay too! We can work through this together!


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors AP Biology Tutors Biology Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Evolutionary Biology Tutors