Dr. Peter Kirby's Personal  Math Tutoring Services

Dr. Peter Kirby's Personal Math Tutoring Services

5.0 (22)
20 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
29 years in business

About this tutor

I have been tutoring at all levels - High School through University - for over 20 years, in Europe and in America. During this time I have tutored over 150 students, ranging from 9 years of age to mature postgraduate students. I hold an Honors BS in Physics from Portsmouth University, England, and a PhD in Engineering Science from Oxford University, England. I am a retired Engineering Vice-President. I enjoy working with students of all ages.

Please contact me for more information. 

I have always been fascinated by mathematics, so tutoring this subject is essentially one of my hobbies - but I take it very seriously. The success of my students is my big reward. There is nothing better than receiving compliments from them, seeing them improve their math skills, scores and grades.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Richboro, PA 18954
Email verified
Phone verified

22 Reviews

5.0

  • Ambreen Ilyas

    He is an excellent teacher! My daughter is finally understanding precalculus

  • Ian Burget

    Excellent. My son says Mr Kirby is the best teacher he ever had!

  • Susan Teti

    Dr Kirby was kind, professional and conscientious. He took the time to check-in, making sure my daughter was understanding the material as the lesson progressed. We will definitely consider him for future tutoring needs as my daughter will be taking Algebra II next school year.

  • Colleen Tatara


Show all reviews

FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

1. Identify problem areas and difficulties

2. Lay out a plan to achieve the desired goal

3. Ensure that the student develops an understanding of the materal, not just familiarity

4. I make myself available at all times to answer student questions/concerns


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

My BS degree and my PhD. Also I have given technical/scientific workshops throughout Europe and North America, including presentations to NATO and to trade delegations from China and Russia.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Hourly fee depends on the level of insruction. It ranges from $30 to $80. I am always prepared to discuss budgeting with potential clients.


How did you get started teaching?

I don't teach - I'm a tutor. There is a difference. Over the last 20 years I have been asked by many people for help with mathematics and I have always been interested in pursuing tutoring. The motivation for increasing and extending my tutoring was to keep busy in retirement.


What types of students have you worked with?

Absolutely all types - 9 years to 81 (a retired MD). I do not offer tutoring of students with ADD etc because I am not qualified to do so.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a tutor in your area of expertise?

Seek references and testimonials, directly whenever possible. Only rely upon academic achievements from recognised and well known quality institutions


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Analytical Geometry Help Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors College Math Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Math Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Precalculus Tutors Quantitative Reasoning Tutors Trigonometry Tutors