Elementary School Tutor

Elementary School Tutor

5.0
1 employee
6 years in business

About this tutor

I am in my fifth year of teaching at the Elementary school level. I have experience with students ages 3-12. I teach library/media and have experience assisting students with technology as well as reading and writing skills. 


Prior background:
I have my Bachelor's degree in History with a Minor in European Studies from The College of New Jersey (2006) with some courses in Elementary Education. worked with teachers and education in my job providing teacher professional development in the humanities. I have experience with writing, research, and basic tutoring of middle and high school students.

I really enjoy getting to interact with students every day.  I love being able to help students learn and to learn some things from them and with them.  I want to prepare my students with skills they can use for success in their lives both now and in the future, and I think that building a strong foundation for loving learning is so important at the elementary level.  Feeling like I make a difference both educationally and personally means the world to me!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Cedar Grove, NJ 07009
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to get to know students by learning about their interests and seeing what they like about learning/school and what they do not like and/or struggle with.  I also try to assess their learning style to see how I can best help them to learn.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have my Masters in Library and Information Science (MLIS) with a School Media Specialist Certification.  I also have 54 undergraduate credits in elementary education.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

-


How did you get started teaching?

I have always enjoyed working with children.  I volunteered with students in high school, and, as an adult I first worked with educators from across the state of New Jersey before transitioning into my current role of elementary School Media Specialist.  I enjoy getting to work with students ages 3-12 on all subject areas!


What types of students have you worked with?

Elementary aged students (Ages 3-12, pre-K 3 through 6th)


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would say to students that it is important to find someone with whom you feel comfortable, someone you know is listening to you and seeing both where you shine and where you struggle.  Find someone who wants to know about your interests, whether they share them or not.  And remember, look for a tutor who can work well with YOU!


Services offered

Geography Tutors European History Tutors Humanities Tutors World History Tutors World Civilization Tutors Social Studies Tutors History Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Writing Tutors English Tutors Grammar Tutors