Jessica LeCrone

Jessica LeCrone

5.0 (2)

About this tutor

In addition to my Master's Degree in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), I have a Bachelor's Degree in Secondary Education, English; I also have a Reading endorsement.

I also have 17 years of experience teaching students (in grades K-12) to listen, speak, read and write in English.

I enjoy helping students gain the English skills they need in order to achieve their other academic goals.  My proudest moments have been when I've seen students, who used to struggle with English, excel in applying the English skills I've taught them.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Wilson, NC 27893
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Evelin Peralta

    Excellent teacher she is patient caring person love to work with childrens she was my ESL teacher in highschool and my son’s teacher very sweet women we learn a lot with her from pronunciation to reading and writting.

  • Doroteo Hernandez

    What i like about her is that she is there when you need her and if you have a problem she will do everything to help you understand the word and the meaning of the word. I was with her in ESL class in my High School and i learn a lot from her. She is a Awesome Teacher to have in your class.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

1.  I pre-assess the student's needs & find-out the student's goals.

2.  I address any current needs (homework help, for example).

3.  To plan for future sessions, I ask the student to provide his/her teacher's contact information, so I can support what the teacher is currently teaching.  I also align my lessons with Common Core Standards for English.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Master's Degree in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), and a Bachelor's Degree in Secondary Education, in English.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $10/student/hour.  But, for siblings, the family rate is $5.00/student/hour.  


What types of students have you worked with?

For 17 years, I've taught students who are not native speakers of English, in grades K-12.  The students' native languages are Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Ukrainian, Japanese, Igbo, French, etc.  


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

1.  Look for a teacher who can help you improve your English skills in all domains: listening, speaking, reading and writing.

2.  Look for a teacher who understands the standards that your classroom teacher uses.

3.  Look for a teacher who is willing to communicate with your classroom teacher, as well as with your parents.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

1.  What are your goals?

2.  With what concepts are you struggling?

3.  What are your most-current grades (report card, progress report, recent tests/homework, reading levels, etc.)?


Services offered

ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Proofreading Tutors Spelling Tutors Writing Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Technical Writing Training Handwriting Tutors Poetry Writing Classes