Ejjaidali Math Tutoring

Ejjaidali Math Tutoring

5.0 (11)
1 employee
27 years in business

About this tutor

Hello!  I am a Missouri certified Math and Spanish teacher (7-12).  I also have a Masters in Curriculum and Instruction (Math emphasis).  I was nominated for Teacher of the Year in my school district for 3 consecutive years (2018-2019, 2019-2020, 2020-2021).

For 25 years I have privately tutored students in all levels of secondary and post-secondary Math (from grade 7 through college).  Areas of expertise include middle school math, Algebra I and II, Geometry, Trigonometry, and Pre-Calculus.  I have tutored Calculus a few times.

I have always traveled to the student's house, and require that an adult be present within earshot while I am there.  My schedule is very flexible, and can meet almost any time of day (7 days/week).

I normally tutor 10-15 students at a time, although I am constantly asked if I can take on more students.  I am very confident that I will be the best math tutor you've ever had.

What I love most about tutoring is that each and every time I work with a student, we have a conversation about math.  By that, I mean that I will have students explain to me why they make the choices they make when solving a problem.  This helps to make sure that students are getting the right answers by thinking through the process(es) correctly.  I'm a huge proponent of making math VISUAL, so oftentimes the colors come out to help kids see patterns.

Best of all, students often say, "Oh!  That makes sense now!  Why didn't MY teacher teach it that way?"

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Raymore, MO 64083
Email verified
Phone verified

11 Reviews

5.0

  • Wasson family

    She is awesome! She gets to a place with each child individually so the child can understand the math concepts. Very patient with the kiddoes when they are having an off day. Mrs. Ejjaidali was a permanent fixture in our home for a few years. I look forward to seeing her here again helping my youngest. We love her!!!!

  • Mary Little

    Ejj Math tutoring is wonderful. She tremendously helped my son understand and learn math on a one on one basis. Highly recommend.

  • Lauren

    Diane is absolutely fantastic! She is dependable, patient and finds creative ways to help students learn challenging material. We initially hired her for 8th grade math and loved her so much that we continued to work with her through college level. Her flexibility both with scheduling and finances combined with her teaching abilities made her the perfect match for our family.

  • Tisha Gillespie

    An excellent tutor who truly cares about her students. She helped my son actually understand his math work and succeed in class. And coordinating tutoring times with her was super easy.


Show all reviews

FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Regardless of if I'm working with a student during the school year, or during the summer, my process is similar.  

I always talk with the parent(s) so I know what their goal is.  What is it that they would like to see from their child?  I ask the student the same thing.  Sometimes kids know where their weaknesses are, sometimes they don't.

The main thing is to find out where the student's skill level is.  I have a variety of resources that I use, similar to a pre-test.  If the student has a text book, I will use some of the questions from past chapters to see where there may be a breakdown.  During the school year, we may work together on homework, but if I see a lack of understanding in foundational skills, we always circle back.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a BS in Math, a BSED in Math Education (7-12) and Spanish (K-12), as well as a Masters in Curriculum and Instruction (Mathematics emphasis).  I began my teaching career in 1995.  I began tutoring even before then.

I have been a Math resource specialist for over 10 years.  In addition, I have privately tutored over 200 students in the past 25 years.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My rate is $40/hour, as I travel to tutor in students' own homes.  If a student finds a friend so that I will be tutoring two students at the same time, it is $25/person/hour.

I have recently started tutoring remotely, by webcam or Google Meet  if you are interested in this option, it is $30/hour.

If finances are an issue, I have worked with families in the past so that their child receives the tutoring needed.  Please let me know if this is your case.

When I tutor students in their own home, I required that an adult be within ear-shot. 


How did you get started teaching?

My whole life, I've known that I'm really good at Math.  In high school, I found myself helping friends who were in lower level math classes.  I really enjoyed it.  

I studied Industrial Engineering for 3 years at University of Missouri-Columbia, before changing my major to Math.  I began tutoring college students.  Within a year, I decided that I wanted to teach it.  I've always loved to help others, and it feels so good to be able to explain something that so many people find difficult in a way that makes sense to them.

I've just completed my 27th year of teaching.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have tutored students from grade 7 all the way through college level math courses -- even adults.

I have worked with very low level students (who don't know how to multiply, for example), up to advanced calculus students (who won't settle for anything less than an A).

I have worked with a few autistic children, and many (many!) students who have ADD/ADHD.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

During distance learning in 2020, several students that had a different math teacher emailed me asking for help.  I set up Zoom sessions twice a week for any 7th or 8th grade student that wanted additional help.  Sometimes the sessions lasted 30 minutes; other times, kids would pop in and out and the session would last 2 hours.

I've always felt needed by my students... but knowing that they needed me just as much during distance learning really made me feel good.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would advise a student (or parent) looking for a Math tutor to really find out the tutor's experience level.  Not just as a Math teacher, but specifically in tutoring.  Teaching Math and tutoring it are two different beings.  I would also ask for references.  I do have these.

In addition, I would ask what materials your child should have for the sessions.  Pencil? Paper? Ruler?  I, myself, provide all materials for students to use.  If the student has a text book, that would be the only thing they would need.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors