Kansas City Tutoring And Mentoring

Kansas City Tutoring And Mentoring

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I'm an upbeat and patient professional currently pursuing a PhD in Biology. I began my undergraduate education at Columbia University in NYC and earned a BS in Molecular Biology, graduating magna cum laude. 

I have more than three years of experience teaching math, English, science, and SAT/ACT prep to students of all ages and learning abilities (incuding students with ADHD, dysgraphia, dyslexia, and other learning disabilities). 

I also offer academic management services. Many parents find the shift to online/at-home education difficult. I can help students succeed by tracking their performance and developing individualized learning plans.

I love helping students understanding challenging material! Finding creative ways to explain ideas and spark learning is deeply fulfilling to me.  I am invested in this work because of the way that achieving academic success can improve students' self-confidence and chances for success in their future careers!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Kansas City, MO 64106
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I typically spend the first session or two probing the student's knowledge to get a sense of how well they understand the material and to identify any areas where remediation might be helpful.  I also believe that it's critical to establish a good personal relationship with each of my clients, so I devote some time to getting to know each other and making sure we're a good fit!


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Molecular Biology and am currently pursuing a PhD in Biology at the University of Kansas.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

For students needing 1-2 hour long sessions per week, I charge $35/session.  Students needing more than 1-2 sessions per week will receive a discounted rate, depending on how many times per week they need to meet.


How did you get started teaching?

I got my first teaching job somewhat by accident!  A close friend from college spent every summer teaching SAT prep at a private academy in Seoul, South Korea.  I was looking for a summer job and an adventure, so I applied and was hired.  I discovered that I had a passion for helping students understand difficult material.  I have continued to teach because I love helping students improve their academic performance, which has a profound effect on their ability to be successful in their future careers.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages and learning abilities.  I have tutored students in elementary school, middle school, high school, and college (including adults in their 40s returning to college).  I also have experience working with students with ADHD and learning disabilities.  


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Statistics Tutors Precalculus Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Trigonometry Tutors