Joni Dugan Math Tutoring

Joni Dugan Math Tutoring

5.0(3 reviews)


I love to tutor math. I love to see the student get beyond "I hate math" or "I'm not any good in math" or "I'm scared to death of math" and so on. You know the story. I take pride in the fact that I have a gift or talent or the ability, whatever you want to call it, of being able to break the material down to the level of the student. I have taught junior high and high school for many years as well as junior college. So I know the hard spots that a student encounters and what they need as background to insure success.

I love it. It is not a job. Currently I still do some subbing at JCCC and private tutoring. I also do the web site and bulletin for a small neighboring church. I am on facebook if you want to check that out.


Hired 8 times
1 employee
Serves Kansas City , MO


Grade level

Middle school, High school, College / graduate school, Adult learner

Type of math

Pre-algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Pre-calculus

Photos and videos

  • Reviews

    0 reviews


    Kate R.

    December 18, 2018
    Hired on Tutors


    Kate R.

    November 29, 2018
    Hired on Tutors


    Alexa L.

    Joni was always prepared and ready to help me with any questions I might have had. Geometry was definitely not my strong suit, but Joni made me feel so much more comfortable with the material. She was always extremely flexible with her schedule, and would make sure to get me in before any tests or quizzes. I am so thankful for all she did to help me this past year!
    ... Show more
    September 22, 2018

    Frequently asked questions

    First, I talk with the student to see what problems they are having.   Depending on that answer, I ask them to let me know where they are with regard to that.  For example if a student has problems with factoring in algebra, I would see if they know their multiplication facts.  If that is the case, then I would help them learn them and apply that to factoring polynomials in algebra

    I have a BS degree in mathematics and MA degree in education and certified in elementary education as well high school  I have taught 18 years in jr high and high school (mostly high school) and then another 18 years as adjunct instructor at a community college teaching developmental courses.

    I usually charge $50 per hour.  If I travel to the student's house or to a place where we can hold tutoring sessions, I charge $55 depending on the location

    Teaching is something I always wanted to do.  I was in the convent for several years.  Back then, I was "told" what my major was going to be in college.  So I didn't have much of a choice.  So since I majored in math, I taught math.  And have loved it. 

    I have worked with a 6th grader who was brushing up on mathematics since she was in Montessori school and was going to a regular school next year.   I tutored an Army Vet trying to get his degree.  I tutored him in Intermediate Algebra and the following year in College Algebra.  I have tutored high school students in algebra I, algebra II and Geometry and in College Algebra on high school level.

    I was nominated for Lieberman Teaching Award for Excellence in Teaching.  This was at the junior College where I taught.

    Services offered