Success Tutors

Success Tutors

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I love teaching American English and culture. I want to help you achieve your goals, whether they be school-related, career-related, or improving your everday English.

I have a Masters in Teaching ESL and a BA in Business. I began teaching adults in 2008 and then taught in public schools since 2011. I recently retired from public school teaching, but want to continue working with older students (10+) and adults in an online environment.

Please contact me and let's talk about how I can help you meet your goals!

I love seeing people, young and old, become confident in English and American culture so they can accomplish their goals. I love when a student gains confidence with English and succeeds academically, or when an employee is confident in their professional communications. I love when moms and dads can communicate effectively with their children's teachers, or doctors, or anyone in their community.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Hopkins, MN 55305
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Contact me for a free consulation, and let's talk about your goals. I can work with you on something specific, such as writing an essay or delivering a speech, or we can develop a longer term plan to improve pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, etc. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Masters in English as a Second Language, 2011.

Bachelor's Degree in Business, 1981.

10 years experience teaching adults and students K-12.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My rates range from $30-$50/hour, depending on the type of teaching. I also offer 30 and 45 minute lessons for lower rates, and discounts for multiple lessons. 


How did you get started teaching?

My rates range from $30-$50/hour, depending on the type of teaching. I also offer 30 and 45 minute lessons for lower rates, and discounts for multiple lessons.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with K-12 students and adults whose first language is not English. I've taught English in China twice. I've also tutored native English speakers who struggle with reading and writing. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Because of COVID 19, I've been staying home most of the time. Before that, I got a new puppy and I took him to puppy classes. I really enjoy working with him and watching him play with other puppies.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

First, look for someone who makes you feel comfortable. You want to be able to make mistakes as you learn, and feel OK.  Ask them about their experience - have they taught people what you want to learn and how will they teach you? Make sure they have the experience and knowledge to help you reach your goals.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What is my goal?

What are my strengths/weaknesses in relation to my goal?

How much time per day to I want to spend working on this?

How do I learn best - listening, writing, speaking, reading?


Services offered

ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Grammar Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors English Tutors