Excel Tutoring

Excel Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I personalize the tutoring experience to meet the needs of each student. I am very personable, and try to identify the student's best learning style. I am also a very passionate educator and want to help every student feel confident and motivated after every session. 

I have a lot of experience tutoring students of all ages and backgrounds. This is my second job while working as a scientist. I specialize in math and science. I have worked with inner city children as well as students from suburban communities so I am adaptable to different situations. I have also mentored college students and have a lot of experience with high school students, including with those with learning disabilities like ADHD. I still have a passion for education and have helped students exceed in the past. I have great reviews and feedback from parents of my previous students and overall my students have been really enthusiastic about getting help though they may have not started out that way. That's one of the most rewarding parts of tutoring. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Rochester, MN 55902
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Currently I am only doing online tutoring. I either meet with a student and/or parent (if applicable) to discuss expectations and needs. I come up with a plan, if it's for long-term tutoring. For short-term tutoring I can work with materials a student wants to go over and pull up additional materials if helpful. I like to ask a lot of questions and summarize the session after with the student to get a sense of what is accomplished during the session. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a PhD in neuroscience. I have worked as a tutor for two tutoring companies in the past. One of them was hybrid so I am quite comfortable using Zoom as an online option. For high school, I have tutored algebra, geometry, biology, chemistry, pre-calculus and SAT/ACT prep. Additionally I have worked with elementary and middle school students--including those with ADHD. I have substituted at a high school where I have taught chemistry (AP/honors) and biology (AP/honors). I also hold a teaching specialist certificate for higher education. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$50 per session


Services offered