Allison Hester

Allison Hester

5.0 (1)
3 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
16 years in business

About this tutor

I have a  Bachelors Degree in business, a 120 Hour TESOL certificate, an IELTS Specialist certificate and I am trained to teach the USA Citizenship Test. 

I have 3.5 years of teaching and tutoring experience. I have various teaching styles which I adapt to suit the individual needs of my students. I believe everyone deserves to be treated as an individual in their learning development; therefore it is important to be able to create a lesson that is tailored to students' needs. 

My methodology is to work toward my students’ learning goals.  First, I will ask you what you would like to achieve by learning English, along with what you would like me to focus on. If needed, I will give you an assessment, and we will go over the results together so that I can create the best lesson plan for you. I will share a lot of info on my tutoring style as well.

My lesson areas are based on your needs but include attention to the following areas of literacy.

•Fluency

•Phonics and pronunciation

•Conversation

•Vocabulary development

•Reading comprehension     

 •Writing emails, resumes and cover letters

•Understanding and using idioms and phrasal verbs effectively

I am patient and I motivate my students to take their time so they can understand the lesson and to ask questions. 

I look forward to helping you reach your goals. 

Thank you for your consideration.

Allison

I enjoy seeing a student grasp the concepts I am teaching and seeing them speak with confidence. I enjoy establishing a positive relationship so that the student is comfortable and we can both do our best. 

I thoroughly enjoy teaching the English language.

I am a caring, friendly, and patient individual who wants to help people learn and speak English successfully and with confidence. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Southfield, MI 48033
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Mina G

    She is patience and provide me with information ahead of time of our lesson.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I will do some initial small talk to see who they are and what they want to discuss and learn. I will ask them questions in regards to what they initially tell me about themselves. I will ask what topics interest them and them and ask questions to explore more ideas around the topic. I will then set a schedule with them and research some resources and prepare lessons to further help them learn with the topics they have requested. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelors in Business and A TESOL (Teaching English as a Second Language) certificate. I have an IELTS Specialist Certificate. 
I have also tutored both adults and children via online schools(Qkids & Alo7 and Preply.com) and also I tutor adults at the Siena Literacy Center in Detroit, Michigan. 


Services offered

Accent Reduction Classes English Tutors ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Grammar Tutors Phonics Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Human Resources Training Personal Tutors Speech Tutors