Private Tutor For All Ages And Subjects

Private Tutor For All Ages And Subjects

5.0
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

Hi! My name is Katherine and I am 25 years old. I previously was enrolled in the Physician Assistant program at Grand Valley University but recently decided that was not the right course for me. Currently I am studying for the mcat to apply to medical school. I graduated with a B. S. in Biology from Oakland University for my undergraduate with a 3. 96 grade point. I very much enjoy teaching others and tutoring. I have tutored in the past and felt very happy doing so. I enjoy watching others grasp concepts. If interested, feel free to contact me.

I enjoy tutoring very much! I love to see the look on the student's face when they finally understand a concept that was previously difficult for them. The student's I teach are always so appreciative of the help and this makes me feel that I made a difference in their life.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Village Of Clarkston, MI 48346
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My typical process for a new student is to find out what they will primarily need help with and prepare materials for the first meeting. While I'm with a new student, I like to see where they are at by having them attempt the problem and watching their process. From there, I can better determine my plan to help them.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a B.S. in Biology from Oakland University. Upon graduation, I was accepted into the Physician Assistant program at GVSU but later decided this was not the right course for me. Currently, I am studying for the mcat so that I can apply to medical school.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$25-$50/hour


How did you get started teaching?

I began tutoring because I was always helping my friends in school with their homework and studying and they all said that I really helped them. Many of my friends have told me that I am a great teacher and that I should tutor, so I decided to give it a try a couple years ago and loved it!


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with many students ranging from 3 years old-35 years old. I feel confident in a wide range of subjects and ages.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Recently, one of the student's that I tutor in math received an A on her last exam. She was so exicited, as was I!


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would tell the student that it is great that he/she is looking to improve their knowledge and that asking for help is a great first step to becomming a great student!

My main area of expertise is math and I understand this is a very difficult subject for many people. If anyone is looking for a math tutor, I would also tell them that I have had much success in my past helping students exceed their expectations.

Tutoring can help immensely!


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

I feel that one main issue that students should consider prior to asking for help is what is the root of the problem. Is it truly a lack of understanding or could it possibly be that they are bored or the teaching isn't adequately meeting their needs?

There are many reasons why students have difficulty is certain subjects, so determining the core issue can help the teacher correctly assess the problem.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Statistics Tutors Trigonometry Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Handwriting Tutors