STEM Tutoring

STEM Tutoring

5.0 (8)

About this tutor

I am a CRLA Level II Certified Tutor
(College Reading & Learning Association)

I have been a college tutor and supplemental instructor since April 2018. Supplemental instruction included Differential Equations & Laplace Transforms at Kettering University. Subjects I tutored included chemical engineering courses, chemistry courses, math courses, and physics courses. I have helped students for years in several different subjects. Math and chemical engineering are my strongest topics, but I have been able to be of help in many other areas.

Prior to college and college tutoring, I also did tutoring work in high school for other high schoolers and elementary school students. During this time, I tutored in STEM subjects but also in reading and English. I have exposure to different age groups for different subjects, primarily STEM subjects.

Experience aside, I have an enthusiastic and understanding attitude. Everyone has a different approach and style to learning, everyone has different areas that are more challenging than others. Part of my job is to help a student understand their style and how to use it to their advantage. Part of my job is to keep them engaged and keep them from being discouraged. Part of my job is to help them understand the material using my enthusiastic attitude and the approach to learning that works best for that individual. 

I love watching a student grow as they learn, the pride in their accomplishments after their hard work, the "aha!" moment when it all clicks. I enjoy my ability to help someone comprehend the material, help ease their stress, and help them foster a love for STEM. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Grand Haven, MI 49417
Email verified
Phone verified

8 Reviews

5.0

  • Destiny Keesling

    My tutor was extremely encouraging and helpful. She really knew the material and planned lessons that got everyone to participate.

  • Louis Clark

    This tutor was incredibly knowledgeable about the content and was able to explain it in a clear and concise way.

  • Rhonda W.

    Improved my daughter's grades a ton! Thank you!!

  • Ethan Simon

    The hands on experience was very helpful in learning material.


Show all reviews

Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

For the first session, I like to spend time determining their academic goals and assessing their learning style and their areas of concern. I also like to establish a rapport with the student, to learn about some of who they are and what they hope to accomplish.  


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a CRLA Level II Certified tutor that has spent 4 years at the Academic Success Center at Kettering University. I have been a tutor in various math, chemistry, physics, and chemical engineering courses. I have also been a supplemental instruction leader for differential equations for much of my time with the ASC, which was a larger group of students. This experience has mostly been with college students, some in person and some virtual.

Prior to college, I worked as a peer tutor in high school for various subjects in math, science, and English. I also worked with elementary school children with math and reading during this time. This was about 2 years. From then to now, I have also taken occasional tutoring appointments with middle school and high school students outside of my normal programs.

During college, I was also a freshman college peer mentor that helped students adjust to college life, whether it be socially or with concepts like organization and time management.


How did you get started teaching?

Much of my recent experience comes from an application to the Academic Success Center at my university. I was always interested in helping others and in fortifying my own knowledge of the subject, even in high school, and I was excited to continue it in college. It started with being a tutor and being a supplemental instructor for Newtonian Mechanics. Supplemental instructors took on secondary instruction for groups of students in the class and held sessions 1-2 times a week. Tutors met with students individually. The next semester, I became the supplemental instructor for Differential Equations and have been doing that since alongside my tutor role and a peer mentor role. I have since fallen in love with teaching.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked primarily with college students, each at different levels of understanding. Some had great difficulty and had to learn from the ground up, some wanted extra practice; some had learning disabilities and we had to find new ways for them to learn the material together. Each came with their own challenges and needs, but all left me better than they started.

I have also spent time with high school-aged and elementary-aged students. Again, these students had different needs and levels of understanding of the material. However, most of my experience is at the college level.


Services offered

Math Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra Tutors Chemical Engineering Tutors Engineering Tutors