Benson Tutoring For All

Benson Tutoring For All

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I'm an independent tutor, with a wide range of interests and experience. I have two degrees, a bachelor's in linguistics and psychology and a master's in Speech-Language Pathology. In addition to academic experience, my interests and passion for vocal performance and music have led me to the occasional gig as a vocal coach - especially in musical theater. Not only do I have experience as a literacy tutor for children, I am also experienced tutoring math in the elementary grades through AP Calculus. 

I love being able to promote independent thinking in my tutees! I've been tutoring on and off for about five years, now, including children and college-aged students, and it brings me true joy to promote a deeper level of understanding in my tutees. I'm incredibly passionate about bringing the best out of people, hence my chosen career path of Speech-Language Pathology, and tutoring is no different.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Taunton, MA 02780
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I prioritize getting to know a student not only in terms of the work they would like to accomplish, but also I try to learn about their personal interests. Establishing rapport is paramount to progress.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I was a peer tutor for upper-level linguistics and psychology coursework (including statistics and research) throughout my undergraduate education, I taught English as an au pair to four Russian-speaking children, and while in graduate school for speech-language pathology, I was a community tutor at the public library. I tutored literacy for grade K-6, and math for grades K-9.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

A half-hour lesson with me is $20, and a full-hour lesson is $30. I may be able to provide a bulk discount for multiple, ongoing or recurring lessons.


How did you get started teaching?

I started in college as a peer tutor six-seven years ago, and I haven't stopped!


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with individuals with a variety of needs and ages. My first job was working at a summer camp for kids with special needs, and I have gained a lot of experience with children with autism in particular, having babysat for two different families with children with autism during my higher education alone. 

My graduate education in speech-language pathology has exposed me to multiple children and adults with a variety of needs, so I'm well-equipped to address these needs during tutoring.

I've also worked with typical elementary, middle and high schoolers as well as college students from a variety of majors who just happen to have been taking a linguistics course.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Think about why you want tutoring and be prepared to ask your tutor what you want help with specifically! :) I know I love to see example worksheets or syllabi. Also, not every teacher teaches the subject the way I learned it, so be clear on the process that is expected of you! Some teachers are open to alternative methods to come to the correct answer, while others want you to learn only theirs.


Services offered

ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Accent Reduction Classes Linguistics Tutoring Help French Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Math Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Classical Voice Lessons Music Performance Lessons Musical Theater Classes Singing Lessons Vocal Training Lessons