Ms. Plouffe

Ms. Plouffe

4.0 (1)
5 employees
1 years in business

About this tutor

My name is Susan Plouffe and I educate students from K-12 who suffer from learning disabilities and social emotional disorders. Also, I have over 10 years experience tutoring English to adult second language learners and currently home-school core subjects and MSAC preparation exercises to high school students who are enrolled in a special education program. 

Because I am a child advocate, I have a great desire to help strengthen their study habits and the environment in which underprivileged children learn in. Watching a student's insecurities and lack of confidence in his or her ability to learn vanish, is very rewarding. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Taunton, MA 02780
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

4.0

  • Meghan Paras

    She was very patient, very understanding, and helpful



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Each student varies depending upon their understanding and/or comprehension of the topic and their level of participation and attention span; However, I begin with a consultation with the student to grasp what his or her past experiances and learning techniques were that led to accomplishments. Also, asking how they enjoy learning is one way I begin so that we can set their goals to overcome any learning difficulties, fears, or doubts that may have caused past  mistakes.  


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

My degree is from a foreign university in  Latin America. Attending classes in a Spanish speaking university was extremely difficult but I had a lot of help from my peers in exchange for tutoring English to them. Currently I'm employed in the Brockton School district at the Huntington Therapeutic Day School (1-12). I have over 5 yrs experience teaching and counseling students who suffer from one or more learning disabilities and  social emotional disorders and over a decade tutoring English to natives as well as second language learners. Each student I work with requires an Individual Education Plan (IEP) as well as an individual behavioral health code of conduct policy. English, ELS, history, biology and the sciences, social sciences and studies, writing, reading, and Spanish are among my favorite subjects to teach. I also home-school for BPS for the Special Education Program and enjoy teaching art classes and therapeutic art  projects are often a part of my teaching style.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Currently I receive $25-$35 an hour for my service but would be willing to compromise with my pay if traveling to the client is not involved. 


How did you get started teaching?

I began tutoring English as a second language to Spanish speakers while studying for my undergrad in Latin America for 5 years. After returning to the States, I took a long term substitute teacher position and then becamed a monitor teacher assistant for special education  


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors Classics Tutors British Literature Help Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors AP English Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Medieval Literature Tutors