Steele Tutoring

Steele Tutoring

New
Offers online services
New
Offers online services

About

Hello! My name is Catey Steele. I am an elementary school teacher from Lexington, Kentucky. I have taught 5th grade for three years. I am now teaching 4th grade. I love to read novels with my students focusing on skills such as figurative language, vocabulary, themes, and character development. Math and Social Studies are also a favorite of mine to teach. As an educator, I love to see my students gain confidence and independence in their own learning. I want to teach strategies in all areas for students to use as they advance through their education.

I graduated from the University of Kentucky in 2017 with a Bachelor's in Elementary Education. I completed my Master's in Literacy Specialist in 2019 from the University of Cumberlands.


Details

1 employee
3 years in business
Serves Lexington, KY
Offers online services

Photos and videos


  • No reviews (yet)

    Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

    Frequently asked questions

    I am a firm believer in building relationships with my students.  This rapport is essential when developing trust with learning needs.  Students who tend to struggle are hesitant when getting guidance from someone.  I want to build the relationships with the students by getting to know them, playing games, and allowing them to get to know me as someone besides their teacher. 

    I have a Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education.  If given the content, I could probably help early middle school students as well.  I have more experience with students in 4th and 5th grade.  I am self-contained, so I am proficient in the subjects of English (reading and writing), Math, and Social Studies.  I have a Master's Degree in Literacy.  I am a firm believer in writing.  Students need to write more, especially when reading.  The two correlate very well together.

    I will be charging $40 per hour. I am happy to extend hour sessions to 1.5 hours. My pricing would then increase to $60 for a 1.5 hour session. 

    I have always loved working with students.  I began working in church nurseries in college, volunteering at educational camps during the summer, and babysitting frequently.  This led me to develop a great understanding of helping students/children meet needs first, which is incredibly important for students when it comes to learning.  I observed in many classrooms throughout college, which led me to gain more confidence in the classroom.  I began teaching in 2017 at the school that I student taught at during college.  

    My school is very diverse.  We have a total of 33 nationalities present.  In my class, I have experience with English Language Learners of all levels.  The school I work with has many Hispanic, Japanese, and Chinese students present.  It is a wonderful place to be.  I also have experience working with students who may have a learning disability or medical condition.  I was coteach this past year, so I worked frequently with our special education teacher on differentiating instruction for my students with IEP's and 504's.

    Smaller experiences are a very positive way to gain confidence in yourself.  I have experience working with students at my small group or even independently to help with homework or skills in math and reading that are frustrating to students.

    I will not provide answers, but instead guide you to learn a strategy for when you hit a point of struggle.  You might ask a teacher, can you help me? Or, I need help with this portion of the task.


    Services offered

    Math