Tutoring With Jamie Combs

Tutoring With Jamie Combs

5.0
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

I am a National Board Certified English Language Development Specialist with 14+ years of classroom teacher experience. I was the coordinator of summer school program for 5 years. I am currently working on my Education Specialist degree which is above a Master's. This will certify me to be a school principal. I teach English Language Learners at a local elementary school. I tutor in reading, writing, science, social studies, and math for elementary and some middle school age students. 

I love helping students be successful at school. I love hearing feedback from parents that students are improving their grades and are feeling proud of themselves. I love to see progress! 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lexington, KY 40517
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I conduct parent and student interviews to learn about the needs and and interests of the student the parent's hopes and expectations of tutoring. I administer a few assessments and determine a focus for our sessions. Sometimes I ask that the student work on some things at home to maximize our results. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelor's in Elementary Education with an emphasis on teaching Kindergarten from Eastern KY University. I have a Master's in Elementary Education with an Endorsement to teach English as a Second Language from Georgetown College. I am National Board Certified in teaching English as a New Language as a Language Development Specialist. I am currently enrolled in the Education Specialist Principal lincensure program at the University of the Cumberlands and I have 14+ years of classroom teaching experience. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I typically charge $35/hour. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I mostly work with students who are learning the English language for the first time. I also work with native English speaking students who struggle in reading or math. I also work with students who are receiving special education services. 


Services offered