Live And Learn Tutoring

Live And Learn Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
7 years in business

About this tutor

My service stands out because I take the time to get to know the person I'm tutoring, their learning style, their struggles, I plan out the topics and do fun activities and unique and fun studying techniques. I'm creative and loud and I'm meticulous and will create elaborate study plans. I like to make things fun and easy, there's no pressure or judging. I love setting goals and watching the person accomplish them and excel even more. I work particularly well with people struggling with mental health issues that cause issues with their ability to focus, do homework, retain the material, take tests, or even just go ti school. I like to start out by figuring out their l learning style, what topics they're struggling with and their goals and then making a plan based on that information. It's really personalized to the person and we have fun and try new ways to study and learn. I've been tutoring since 2014, so a little over 8 years, Ive babysat for over 10 years, homeschooled 3 children and managed their days, I've been working in childcare for 2 years dealing with 6 week old all the way up to 10 year olds, and was a student myself for a very long time kindergarten - 12th grade and then 4 more years it took to get my bachelors and I'm currently working towards my masters in education so all of this combined has taught me a abundance of knowledge on children, learning, organization, teaching, studying, and so much more. I'm so enthralled by what I do there's nothing better than the feeling you get when one of your students gets the grade they wanted or passes the class they thought they were for sure going to fail. I love what I do genuinely and have quite a few credentials in addition to my many years of experience, for starters, I have a bachelors degree from the University of Cincinnati in Education and I have an "advanced tutor" certificate from the Association for the Tutoring Profession. Im also working on getting my CDA (Child Development Associate) credential and a Master Level Tutor from the American Tutoring Association. 
 Tutor certification from 

I enjoy teaching people, helping them, and the feeling after one of my students accomplishes a goal or gets caught up. I want to give the people who are struggling someone to listen and help. I also enjoy getting to formulate studying activities and materials based on the subject and persons preferred learning style. I love kids and working with them is wonderful and makes my busy chaotic life more fun!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Cincinnati, OH 45245
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Erik Angel

    She’s phenomenal, I scored a 33 on the ACT all thanks to her. She really took her time to get to know me and my needs and as someone with test anxiety she really helped me not only learn the material but helped with the mental obstacles I was facing. She’s great if you’re looking for someone knowledgeable on lots of topics and someone who deals with all ages! Thanks Miss Chloe!



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My typical process is to have a meeting where I ask them what topic they're struggling with, why they think they're struggling (is it related to not doing the work or not paying attention or is it just they tried to pay attention but still don't understand it). I then ask them what their big goal is and what they want to get out of tutoring, how often, for how long, and finally  how soon do they want to accomplish their goal. the next step would be to talk to them about how they learn best, what things have helped them in the past, anything different they would like to try and then take a learning style quiz. Once I know the topic their struggling with, why, the goal, the time frame and their learning style I take all the information, break down the topics and create personalized, fun, creative ways to teach and help the student study. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have about 10 year of experience babysitting, 9 years tutoring every age, grade and a huge variety of subjects, ive worked in daycares for 2 years and have been a teacher at Anderson High School for over a year (I'm a history teacher) I have a bachelors degree in education from the University of Cincinnati, and im currently working towards my masters degree. I am certified as an Academic Coach from the National Tutoing Association I also have the certificate Level III Tutor from the College Reading and Learning Associates. I'm working on getting my CDA (Child Development Associate) credentials. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I am pretty flexible with prices, but generally for kindergarten- 12th grade it will be 50$ an hour and for college it will be 100$ an hour. I'm willing to discuss prices more. 


How did you get started teaching?

I always wanted to be a teacher ever since I was 7 or 8 years old. I started babysitting in 2012 and I babysat 9 kids in total. I babysat for 3 different families and it wasn't a lot but nevertheless I did that for about 3 years then I moved and started babysitting for 2 families that each had 4 kids all different ages and I did that up until 2020. In 2014 I was asked by a teacher to help two students who were failing his class, I tutored them all semester and they ended up getting b's. The word spread around so more people were coming to me frequently. I think that year I tutored probably close to 12 people. Shortly after my mother had to work but my brother who was in 5th grade needed a tremendous amount of time and teaching and she paid me to do that the whole school year and it went wonderfully his lowest grade was a 92 out of all of his classes. I taught him English, math, art, history, science, music and p.e. After that I got a job at a daycare and was considered a infant teacher, I was working with 2-3 year olds so we were teaching them colors and shapes and numbers, ect, so I worked there 2 years while I finished college, I tutored 3 students from my college my last year of university. When  I got done with that and started working as a high school history teacher I started a "study club" and a "mental health" club" I found a lot of my students who were falling behind or failing were struggling with mental health issues so I wanted anyone stuggling to come to my room and help study and now I do it on the side outside of my classroom too.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with ages infant to mid 20s, all different backgrounds, grades, people with disabilities or mental health struggles, different ethnicities, cultures, socioeconomic classes, people with all different types of learning styles, personalities, interest,ect. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

A student and I had the goal for him to score a 30 on the ACT and we had 6 weeks to do it, the day he called me and told me his results were a 33 I felt so accomplished and proud. I still look fondly on that, but he worked hard and he just excelled.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Look for someone who is knowledgeable, cares about the students, engages with you, someone  dependable. You'll want someone passionate, empathetic, experienced and someone with a growth mindset. Plus it's always good to have someone who is genuinely rooting for your bad not just trying to make money. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What subject and what specific topics they're struggling with, the reason they're struggling, what they think is the best course is a action to get back on track and what their goal is for tutoring. 


Services offered

AP US History Tutors AP World History Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Admissions Coaches College Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Economics Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors English Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors European History Tutors First Aid Training Classes GED Tutors Ged Test Prep Tutors Government Tutor Graphic Design Tutors Homeschool Tutors & Teachers