STEM Tutoring

STEM Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

I am currently studying for my PhD in Systems, Synthetic, and Quantitative Biology at Harvard. I obtained a degree in Biochemistry at the Western Kentucky University Mahurin Honors College with minors in Biophysics and Mathematics. I maintained a near-perfect GPA while taking numerous upper-level biology, chemistry, and mathematics courses. I have been recognized by many STEM honors, including the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship ("The most prestigious undergraduate scholarship in the natural sciences, mathematics, and engineering in America") and numerous awards at my institution, including recognition for research excellence and as the top student in my department. 

In addition to tutoring my peers and younger sister for several years, I have served as a chemistry (1 semester) and physics teaching assistant (2 semesters) at WKU. The support of my mentors and teachers over the years have made my success possible, and I want to serve a similar role in the lives of other students. I would love to have the opportunity to help your student succeed.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Boston, MA 02215
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I work to assess the student's current standing. I work through a problem set with the student to gauge the students knowledge of content and approach to problem solving. Then, I determine a study and tutoring plan with the student to target areas that need improvement.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have served as a teaching assistant for introductory physics and chemistry. I have completed coursework through differential equations (calculus four) in mathematics; general chemistry, organic chemistry, and analytical chemistry; and cellular biology, molecular biology, evolutionary biology, zoology, and physiology.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $35.00 per hour for new students. If a student continues with tutoring for several weeks, I am willing to negotiate on pricing; these costs can be determined prior to the first tutoring session. If financial difficulty limits your student's options for tutoring, please reach out to me; I am happy to offer lower costs for students with demonstrated financial need.


Services offered

AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors AP Physics Tutors Biochemistry Tutors Biology Tutors English Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Reading Tutors Writing Tutors Sign Language Classes Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Analytical Chemistry Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors