K Biggs Tutoring

K Biggs Tutoring

5.0 (2)
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

Hello! I am currently a middle school teacher who is certified K-8 to teach all subjects including math. In my 5 years of teaching I have taught math, reading, literacy, AIM (AVID), and coached our math and cheerleading team. I also tutor on the side during summertime. Currently, I teach 7th grade literacy and AIM for 8th grade and look forward to teaching you as well! 

My students are the best part about my job! Getting to interact with them and help them grow is extremely rewarding. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lenexa, KS 66062
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Kristine Berry

    Katherine tutored my son Timothy for the past 2 summers and I was extremely pleased. She kept him engaged in learning, was encouraging and provided feedback on his progress. I would highly recommend her!!

  • Maiya Ordiway

    Mrs.Biggerstaff is an amazing teacher. She works with students very well and it seems like she cares and has a passion for her teaching. She is very kind to students and helps students understand what they need to do. She gets personally connected with students and individually helps out students. Mrs. Biggerstaff enforces her rules but she isn’t mean about it. Mrs. Biggerstaff doesn’t just teach the whole class she helps individual students if they need help and helps everyone get caught up if needed. She makes everyone feel equal. In general she is a great teacher I’d rate her 10/10.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to first evaluate my students to see where they are academically. After that initical eval, I will determine what areas they need my help in and find resources to best support their needs. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education 

Master's Degree in Educational Theories and Practices

Middle School Math Certificate 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $40 per hour for all lessons in person and online. 


How did you get started teaching?

I've always enjoyed school, so at a young age I knew teaching was what I wanted. I started teaching swim lessons when I was in middle school and that was just the beginning for me. 


What types of students have you worked with?

All ages and backgrounds including students overseas. I student taught in Australia and worked in Turkey at an international space camp. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I required all of my students to submit an essay in a local writing competition. One of my students got runner up, which was a huge accomplishment for him! 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I'm all about making education fun and easy for you and I! Let's chat about school. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What subject(s) do I excel in?

What subject(s) do I need extra support in?

What is my learning style?

What helps me learn best?


Services offered

Math Tutors Basic Math Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Reading Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors