Stone Tutoring

Stone Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee

About this tutor

My overall tutoring goal is to find the student's optimal learning style and train them how to organize and prioritize their studying time. With 10+ years of experience, I am confident in my techniques to make learning enjoyable for my students. My professional experience is as follows:

- Private and center-based tutoring for K-12 (2009 - 2015)
- Biological Anthropology Teaching Assistant (Loyola Univeristy Chicago, 2012 - 2016)
- Biological Anthropology Research Lab Manager (Loyola University Chicago, 2013 - 2016)
- Writing Center Peer Tutor (Loyola University Chicago, 2013 - 2015)
- Training/onboarding, product knowledge (Whole Foods Market, 2016 - 2020)

I have a passion for learning and teaching - but not everyone does. I like experimenting with creative ways of studying that follow students’ learning methods. While I am most comfortable tutoring subjects in my expertise, I also focus on teaching students organization and prioritizing tactics that can be applied to their overall schoolwork and life. It’s important to make the most out of the time dedicated to studying and learning so people can get to the things they enjoy the most. Balancing life’s demands is always tricky, but it’s easier when you have someone to help you and celebrate your accomplishments. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Westfield, IN 46062
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Kristi Nixon

    Abbey tutored my son for a year. She was very organized, dependable, and professional. Abbey has a wonderful demeanor; warm, patient and calm. She made excellent use of time, I was always amazed at what they accomplished in their weekly sessions. She set reasonable goals and encouraged my son to give his best effort. She taught him various study and organizational skills that he still uses in college. I highly recommend Stone Tutoring.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to see what the student's current study habits are like and work with them to create a planner/organization system that focuses on their goals. It's important to determine how the student learns best (hands on, visually, etc.) so we can optimize their time and efforts. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

General pricing estimates based on the following subjects:

~$30/hr: K-8 — all subjects 

~$35/hr: 9-12 — algebra, pre-calculus, chemistry, biology, anatomy, physics, writing 

~$40/hr: College Undergrad. — introductory anthropology course (archaeology, linguistics, biological, cultural), osteology/anatomy, Biology I/II, writing, research project organization 


How did you get started teaching?

I started my passion for teaching as a teenager working at a local tutoring center before heading off to college in Chicago at Loyola University. There, one of my freshmen professors approached me, as I was doing well in her course, to become a peer tutor. As my college career progressed, I got more and more involved, leading me to becoming a Lab Manager in the final years of my time at Loyola.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

- What learning style would you consider yourself to have?

- What are your studying conditions like? 

- What are your favorite and least favorite subjects in school?


Services offered

Anatomy Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Essay Editing Tutors English Tutors Proofreading Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Evolution Tutors Laboratory Tutors Science Tutors Social Sciences Tutors