Elementary And High School Math And Science Tutoring

Elementary And High School Math And Science Tutoring

4.8 (4)
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

I offer online tutoring for Anatomy and Physiology, General Chemistry, Algebra 1, Biology, Elementary Mathematics, and SAT review and prep. I have flexible hours and flexible costs!

I am a nursing student at Franciscan University of Steubenville, OH, and I have been formally tutoring for the university for about 2 years now. I also have experience with teaching younger children and high school students because I would teach homeschool courses. For the past few months I have transitioned to online tutoring through a variety of mediums including Zoom and Facebook Messenger. I offer flexible hours that fit your schedule, and I can provide letters of recommendation and transcripts upon request. 

I am comfortable teaching elementary school mathematics and Algebra 1, but my most favorite subjects are anatomy and physiology! I also teach general chemestry at a college prep level, highschool biology, and SAT/ACT remedial review, including the reading and writing portion. 

I have experience with students who may have difficulty in certain subjects or have different learning styles, I always try to teach through examples, throw in stories to make the information easy to remember, and help the student find a passion for the information. If the student is still having a hard time with the information I am happy to try and change up my style and work with the student until they are confident. 

I graduated Summa Cum Laude from highschool in 2018, I was awarded Freshman of the Year from Franciscan University of Steubenville in 2019. I was an Optimist Essay Club finalist 3 out of four years during highschool, and belonged to a Shakespearean acting troupe for 11 years and a poetry recitation club. 

I love working with students and sharing knowledge about subjects that I am passionate about. There is nothing better than helping a student go from confusion to understanding and confidence. Knowledge is power and I am excited to share it with you!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Indianapolis, IN 46220
Email verified
Phone verified

4 Reviews

4.8

  • Jules

    She was excellent! She takes her time with every concept to ensure the student understands everything. She fields questions with ease and is always cheerful. She is heroically patient and knowledgable. Ten out of ten tutor and a kind person as well.

  • Nyasha Dileonardo

    Very patient and explains well in till you understand. I had a hard time understanding Statistics in class and when she became my tutor, I started enjoying it and passed the class with a high score.

  • Katy Easterday

    Magdalena has worked for me in the tutoring office at Franciscan for two semesters tutoring Nursing Chemistry and Anatomy and Physiology. I have been very pleased with her work and willingness to give as much time to those who need help. She is very good with filling out needed paperwork and confirms questions to superiors if anything is unclear. The students she works with have consistently praised her ability to make the information clear.

  • Catherine Rudkins

    I loved everything about my tutoring. The way the tutor works with each person and each situation is incredibly unique and really helps each student learn the material. The tutor is very patient and so very kind. I learned more with my tutor in 2 hours than I did the entire week of class. Magdalena was my saving grace this year and I know she’ll be able to help others the way she helped me. She’s incredible and I hope others get to experience that as well.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to get to know the learning style or specific needs of the student before we begin. At the beginning of each of my sessions, I have an idea of what I would like to cover, but I always ask the student what topics or specific problems/question they might have. If there is nothing in particular, I try to give broad reviews of the material so that we hit any area where understanding may be incomplete. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I was homeschooled up until 9th grade, and during highschool I helped to home educate my siblings and other children in the homeschool group. My sister, who is only a year older than I, has dyslexia, so we would often study together and I would review subjects with her in a way that was easier to understand. During college I started to formally tutor dsuring Freshman year, and I have since then taught both individual and group sessions in a multitude of subjects. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My pricing is flexible. I know that online sessions are not ideal, so my baseline rate is 25 dollars an hour, but I am happy to discuss a more suitable price if necessary. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students all ages, from elementary to college, and I have experience with students who may have untraditional learning styles or dyslexia. I have also worked with international students that were fluent in english but required more of a hands-on explanation with multiple examples. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Be honest about needing help or review! You should never apologize for needing to be taught something, and tutors will be happy to work hard with you and grow your confidence in any subject!


Services offered

Anatomy Tutors Physiology Tutors Chemistry Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Biology Tutors SAT Prep Tutors SAT Math Tutors SAT Reading Tutors SAT Test Prep