Michael's Tutoring

Michael's Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
35 years in business

About this tutor

I have been a tutor for 34 years with students from 2nd grade through the first two years of college.  I teach all general subjects and care deeply for the success of my students.  My services have gone 100% online due to social distancing, although most of my experience has been in my student's homes.  I hold 1-hour sessions that are available six days per week from 11AM through 10PM with a guarantee of 4 hours minimum for a flat rate of $60.  If you use less than 3 hours, your fee is automatically converted to the lower $20 per hour fee.  The student's schedule is self-determined based upon open slots posted and accessed by link.  I manage all incoming/completed homework lists, provide post tutoring summary, attend teacher conferences and provide additional support materials.

I love sharing concepts with others that will help students for a lifetime.  It is wonderfully gratifying when the student's "light" pops on, and you have that WOW moment.  I love watching the joy and self-esteem students gain when they get better grades and gain confidence.  My greatest satisfaction is when older, often long graduated students, call me years later with their gratitude for their success.  Moments like these are the definition of tearful joy!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Dyer, IN 46311
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • L. Taylor

    He takes the time to understand each kid’s strengths and weaknesses.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I have a meeting with potential new students and/or parents to determine goals and objectives.  We discuss how tutoring works either in person or online and settle on a schedule.  We complete standardized placement tests to find out the student's strengths and weaknesses, and this is finalized with a suggested action plan.  Each student is started with a no-obligation free week, followed with daily post-session summaries and bi-monthly progress reports.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

BS - Business Administration

I tutored my son from age seven to age twelve while we traveled together for my work.  During this time he jumped two full grades and entered high school early.  By the time he graduated, I had a full-time practice with twenty students.  He eventually became a well-known business person in the Houston area with thousands of employees.

I have always enjoyed the gratification of working with young people to help them become more productive adults.  This is my life's calling, as my references will attest.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Online 1-on-1 tutoring has open slots throughout the day which the student chooses and changes at will.  Students may select as much time as they like until all slots are full.  The flat rate is $60.00 per week for 4-5 hours or $20.00 per hour for 1-3 hours.  There are also designated office hours available held for quick call-in questions.  Sessions are held on Skype or Zoom and the student must have a Google account to share documents.


How did you get started teaching?

I started teaching my son while being home-schooled when I had a 100% travel job. As an only parent, he went with me, while we spent many hours together figuring out what worked best for us.  He started one year behind which we made up in short order, and then went on to move forward two more grades.  His new friends from high school told his story to their parents (as he was two years younger than them), who then called for help.  I finally quit my corporate job and started my own practice.  I have had approximately twenty students each year ever since.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with both children and adults, gifted students and those with learning disabilities.  The majority of my tutoring practice caters to average children who are experiencing general difficulty or more acute problems with specific subjects.  Most problems result from a lack of understanding with regard to a "foundational" area of knowledge with has cascaded into subsequent learning areas.  I identify the issues and re-teach the material which followed.  I have students that stay with me until they graduate, and others that move on once their difficulties are resolved.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I recently attended the high school graduation for a student who appeared to have very little chance.  Both he and his parents were grateful for the help and the interest I took, and the structured environment I helped to create.  I was touched when he told me that he learned more from me than just his subjects, he said he learned organization and determination.  We keep in touch today, even after he has entered the working world!


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find a teacher who is interested in the success of the student, not one who is punching a time clock.  Make sure they help with study habits and communicate well while showing a lot of patience.  Look for a teacher who reinforces responsibility and the discipline needed to create great study habits.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors English Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Basic Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors