Epiphany Tutoring

Epiphany Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

I am a 24 year old university student with 3 years of experience working side by side with K-12 + ESL students to raise their grades and confidence in various subjects.

With my help, the student will receive full marks on homework, and practice habitual, efficient test preparation.

With GED students I utilize up to date test preparation books and create a study plan based off of those. With those in high school looking to score high marks in the SATs or the ACTs, I use the appropriate study books as well as old tests to fully prepare the student for what concepts they may encounter.

Currently, I am doing one-on-on sessions remotely on Zoom.

I can be reached at [email protected]

My philosophy is that practice cements knowledge. I love helping my students pick up a passion in reading and writing. My sessions with students are not as perceived labor by them, or myself. 

I love getting to know my students and seeing their confidence rise with their hard earned improvement. My current pupil went from a 2nd grade reading level to a 4th grade one in the span of three months. It is both a combination of his willingness to learn under my guidance and my focus in working on his weaknesses that developed his academic improvement.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

HOFFMAN EST, IL 60192
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Kim Sohyun

    I am an ESL student. She helped me with class homework and readings I had been struggling with. I practiced a lot of grammar in both worksheets and in our free writing sessions. My sister and I both had an easier time in school because we understood everything!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

- First Day -

The student and I work together to outline their short term and long term goals. Some examples may be expanding one's vocabulary, finding a balanced studying routine, boosting grades, strengthening their academic writing, improving speech. 

We choose a weekly schedule that allows me to monitor their progress and answer any questions on homework and our personal asignments. I will be available throughout the week to assist them but in person and zoom meetings will be coordinated in advance with the parent. 

I assign them tests in their requested subject to analyze what they lack fluency in and create individualized lesson plans based off of those first.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have worked with 5 other students in the past, some of them ESL students for about 6 months-2 years on average. We covered the GEDs, Social Studies, Grammar, Reading, and Essay Writing. I still keep in touch with all of them after parting ways. 

I have attended Harper College, Urbana Champaign, UIC, and School of the Art Institute in Chicago. I have my Associates in Art, as well as my Bachelor of Science in Pre-Nursing. I am currently pursuing my teaching degree.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$30 / hour. 2-4 hours per lesson. If I am sharing my tutoring time between several children, there are half rate discounts for the others.


Services offered

English Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Grammar Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors Technical Writing Training Spelling Tutors Speech Tutors Reading Tutors Proofreading Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors English Literature Tutors College Essays Help Tutors