Ms. Angela The Educator

Ms. Angela The Educator

5.0
Best of 2021
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hello, my name is Angela and I am a dedicated teacher whose enjoys getting learn the unique needs and strengths of her students. 
I’m a state certified teacher, with over 10 years working with students between the ages of 4-18. Id hold a M.A.T. in middle grades education and instruction with subject area specialization in English Language Arts and Social Studies. I currently work for the state of Illinois and tutor students part time. 
My classroom experience includes 4th & 5th grades and background in special education teaching. 
I look forward to sharing more information about my teaching experience upon request!

I enjoy the process of learning and teaching others how to highlight and recognize their own gifts and strengths while improving on their academic areas of challenge. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Springfield, IL 62701
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My process is getting to know a new student with a conversation, their learning goals and known strategies that they know to work for themselves. The general conversation often serves as a self assessment for why they are looking for a tutor. Then I begin my own professional assessment of their goals and begin a flexible learning plan outline tailored to their specific needs. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

My Formal Education includes:

B.S. in Psychology - University of Georgia

Master in the Art of Teaching - Georgia State University, College of Education

Professional Development in the following disciplines: Elementary Singapore Math Instruction, Inquiry Focused Learning, Education and Neuroscience, Diversity and Inclusivity in the classroom, Intensive Writing Instruction (Secondary School level) Differentiation Classroom Instruction, and Integrating Technology in the classroom.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Yes. Tutoring session prices start at $60 an hour. 


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring as a college student, found my way randomly to working at a Secondary School admissions office overseas and then returned to Atlanta, Georgia for graduate education and teacher training.  


What types of students have you worked with?

I have taught students across all age groups, all subject areas, learning abilities (special education and gifted education) domestically and abroad. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would advise to - go with your gut feeling! :)


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What help do I need to do my best work in the area I seek tutoring? What is (are) my area of challenge(s) that needs attention during my next tutoring session?


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors American Literature Tutors Classics Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors