Elementary Grades Tutoring

Elementary Grades Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hi all! My name is Dayna and I am currently working toward a BA degree in elementary education with minors in Math and ESL. I have been working in early childhood for 3 years now and have experience tutoring and working in elementary schools as well! I believe that all students are capable of learning. I will help students achieve their goals by working with them and getting to know each student individually, along with their learning style. This will help me decide which strategies and methods might help each child best! I am available for online tutoring via video chat or meeting at a public location, such as a library. 

I enjoy helping students realize their potential and apply their knowledge and skills. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Mt Prospect, IL 60056
Email verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I typically spend the first session getting to know the student by asking them about their experience in school and the subject(s) they are looking to work on. During this first session, I might also try out a few strategies to see what works best for this particular child. After that, I apply what I learned about that student to help inform my instructional strategies and materials. If something is not working, I go to the next strategy, and if something is working well, I consider how we can improve. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have worked in early childhood as an assistant teacher for three years and am currently in school, working toward a BA in elementary education, with minors in math and ESL. I have had a lot of experience in both early childhood and elementary level classrooms working one-on-one and in small and large groups. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I do not have a standard pricing system for my lessons, as I am flexible and work out a rate with each individual family. However, I typically charge around $30 an hour. 


How did you get started teaching?

My passion for teaching started at an early age, with my love of school and learning. I like helping students learn and improve, and realize that they are capabale of doing so. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with early childhood and elementary aged students (birth through fifth grade). I have also had experience working with students for which English is their second language. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

For any student who is looking to hire a teacher or tutor, I would insist that they find someone who can make learning fun for them. Learning should be an enjoyable and life-changing experience, and that requires teachers that are a good fit for you.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Before talking to teachers about their needs, students should think about: how they learn best (hands-on, visually, etc.), how they like to study (flashcards, through practice, etc.), and if they like the subject for which they are seeking additional help. I also encourage them to reflect on why they like or dislike that subject, as it might help the student discover where there needs are coming from, and also help the teacher understand them better. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Middle School Math Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Phonics Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors Homework Help Tutors Study Skills Tutors