Sara's Help From Home

Sara's Help From Home

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Graduate of Saint Charles North High School. Currently a student athlete pursuing a degree in Physical Education and Health. I love working with the elementary age and different subject areas, however I do have two years of expereince working in a kindergarten classroom and in P.E. as a teachers assistance with ages k-12.  During the summers I help coach soccer camps and teach fundamentals of soccer and goalie training sessions. I can help provide learning activies and talk them through differnt lessons. I can do both tutoring in school and soccer. 

My favorite part of helping students and kids is seeing thier growth over time. There is nothing better than seeing a kid grasp an idea for the first time. Teaching is truly a rewarding experience. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

South Elgin, IL 60177
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When working with a new student I like to learn what type of learning works best for them: visual learner, auditory, kinesthetic etc. I can then provide resources and activities that will work best for them. I like to talk them through the lesson, let them try it, and then discuss their work with them and provide closure to the lesson. The end goal is to see improvement in their learning. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

- I took a teaching practicum class for two years and have two years of experience working in a classroom. My mom is also a teacher mentor and I help her teachers generate lesson plans and ways to incorporate movement to learning. 

- I've been a soccer coach for 3 years now helping kids ages 3-10 learn the basic foundations of the sport

- I've taught swim lessons for 2 years now to children under the age of 5


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I understand that during the time of Covid-19 there has been an increase of financial troubles. With that being said I am charging $35 a session or $10/ hour.

A session: a session will include a full lesson plan/ outline of a week worth of homework activies that will have a full explation of the activies to do with your child, or have your child do. It includes lesson objectives, the state standard it connects to, the lesson with steps and a list of all the materials needed for the week (if any). This would be 3 days worth of work 

Per hour: I am able to do online lessons with your child via facetime or zoom. I can talk them through a lesson in the specific subject area. This will be scheduled for an hour at a time becuase I am still taking classes myself. 


How did you get started teaching?

I started to get involved in teaching when my mother was still teaching elementary school. I would go with her and be her assistant for the day. Junior year of High School I enrolled in a class called Teaching and Learning Practicum that taught me the foundations in teaching. That class allowed me to go out to Wasco Elementary school for two hours everyday and teach full class lessons, one-on-one lessons and group sessions during my school day. I ended up taking that class both Junior and Senior year. I go to college in Mississippi and volunteer in an elementary school and help read to kids, and help in the P.E. department. 


Services offered

First Aid Training Classes Soccer Training Coaches English Tutors Reading Tutors Phonics Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Spelling Tutors Writing Tutors Nutrition Coaches Private Tutors Study Skills Tutors Summer Tutors Spanish Tutors Earth Science Tutors Life Sciences Tutors Physical Science Tutors Geography Tutors History Tutors Social Studies Tutors Dance Fitness Classes