Awesome Education

Awesome Education

5.0
1 employee
16 years in business

About this tutor

Unless large corporate tutoring services I work for myself.  Thus, hours and prices are flexible.  I have been a certified teacher for 15 years.  I have taught students from second grade through high school.  I have taught special education for the past 10 years, working with students who had a variety of issues including Autism, Down Syndrome, ADHD, and general learning disabilities.  

As a life-long resident of Illinois I have earned an ESL endorsement to help Spanish-speaking students learn English and get along well with English-based school curriculum.  I have also worked with at-risk inner-city students, counseling them on personal issues while teachign them the math and reading skills that will help improve their living situation.      

I enjoy the sense the my job makes a difference.  I love meeting new people and I get to be creative.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

IND HEAD PARK, IL 60525
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first get to know the student.  I find out their interests so that I can slightly adjust the lessons and make the teaching as interesting as possible.  I find out the areas they struggle in through communicating with students, parents, and pre-assessing them. 

After I find out the child's interests, strengths, and needs I provide them with catered instruction.  Then I use a combination of online games and worksheets to provide the child with additional opportunities to practice many of the skills I just finished teaching.  Many of these online resources also retain the information so that I can use them to help monitor the students progress.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been a certified elementary school teacher since 2003.  

I have been a certified special education teacher since 2010.

I have teaching endorsements in Middle School Language Arts & English as a Second Language (ESL)

I have a bachelors degree in English and Elementary Education from Loras College.

I have a masters of education degree in Special Education from Northeastern Illinois University.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Although I usually charge $40 per hour based on my high level of experience, since I work independently my pricing is flexible.  


How did you get started teaching?

My older brother David inspired me to follow in his footsteps in becoming a teacher, and ultimately into becoming a special education teacher.  Before taking teaching classes I worked with Americorps by vollunteering in at-risk schools while going to college in Iowa. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Discrete Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Probability Tutors