Supplemental Educational Services

Supplemental Educational Services

5.0 (6)
5 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
7 years in business

About this tutor

I have tutored Math and English privately for over 25 years. My school contracts include teaching English and Math to elementary school students at Mt Vernon, Woodley Hill and Bucknell Elementary in Alexandria, VA. I have worked as an adjunct professor at Dankook University in Seoul, South Korea while serving overseas.

“Mr. Greenbaum has been tutoring my daughter, Jiitu, in English studies for the past five years. She has made amazing progress from a Kindergarten student, who could barely read, to a Montessori class; which she is in today. He is patient, knowledgeable and full of energy. He requires that my daughter read a book each week, study vocabulary and write a brief book report summary. I highly recommend him and, in fact, have already referred him to three other families.”

— Kuffa Dekamo, Arlington, VA

I enjoy helping young students understand and improve in their most difficult studies.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Hollywood, FL 33020
Email verified
Phone verified

6 Reviews

5.0

  • Tahneia Berry

    He is patient, firm and very helpful. My son feels confident and loves to learn with Mr. Allen. I would definitely recommend him

  • Erika Obryant

  • Sade Olmeda

    Hes awesome my son really likes and seems to totally understand his tutoring

  • Yousif S.

    ” I’m MBA student and English is my second language. I needed help to improve my writing skills and I couldn’t find better than Alan. Alan is very reliable and professional in his directions and instructions. He was always on time in our meetings and in giving me his feedbacks when is needed. Because of his help I was able to finish my program (12 classes) with A- and I definitely recommend him for those who need his help.” — Yousif S., Bethesda, MD


Show all reviews

Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I get to know the student's personality and how to best communicate. Afterward, I determine what the student's weaknesses are, Finally, I develope a lesson plan suited to his or her needs.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

My first professional job out of college was at Miami Beach High School as a School Social Worker. My experiences gained there trained me to how to deal with students having difficulties learning Math and English.

While working for the federal government overseas, I taught English at several universities, private companies and to numerous individuals.

After working overseas I returned to the US and was contracted by Alexandria County, VA. I taught English/Math at several area elementary schools and after school areas at homes. I participated in the No Child Left Behind Program.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My tutoring fee is $35/hr for one student. For two students it is $52/hr and so on.


Services offered

Elementary Math Tutors Math Tutors English Tutors ESL Tutors English Literature Tutors ESOL Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Phonics Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors Reading Tutors Speech Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors