Pre-Med Success

Pre-Med Success

5.0
1 employee

About this tutor

I graduated from the University of Miami with honors in Psychology and English Literature and also studied Art History, Biology, and Chemistry. During my time at UMiami, I was a TA for organic chemistry 1 + 2, as well as general biology 1 + 2 and worked in the labs as a TA for each subject. Over those two years as a TA, I had the opportunity to meet with a diverse amount of students and help them conquer their fears of these "scary subjects".

I believe that studying the humanities has allowed me to fully appreciate STEM and reminds me that education isn't simply knowing a set of formulas or knowing how to compute a set of numbers. Education is also about having compassion for those around you and being able to share knowledge with others and sharing the joy of understanding the world around you.

I love meeting with students one-on-one and being able to mentor students to reach their full potential. It is a privilege to be able to share the fun parts of chemistry and biology with students and seeing them gradually become more interested and not so scared of the subjects that have quite a reputation.

The best part of the job is seeing the concepts "click" and them feeling proud of themselves and seeing in themselves what you've been seeing all along. :)

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Miami, FL 33184
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

The first session I try to dedicate to just getting to know them and having a trial session just to see how we interact and how they learn best. I find that getting to know them before starting our tutoring sessions and focusing just on the subject really helps sessions run smoother and students get more comfortable since they know more about me. :)


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Bachelor's in Psychology; concentration in research methods and developmental/child psychology

Bachelor's in English Literature; concentration in British Literature

Minors in Art History, Biology, and Chemistry

Teaching Assistant for Biology and Chemistry and general labs for 2 years


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with elementary school students, high schoolers, and college students in the past. :)


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find someone who meshes well with you and understadn how you learn best. If you know what the best methods to learn are, the easier it makes it on you and the teacher. :)

Also find someone who will not judge you, but also won't sugarcoat things. Having trust and being able to confide in your tutor is key!


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What is the best way I learn?

What topics in this subject am I struggling with the most?

Are there factors that may be hindering my performance (i.e: having to work while being a student, lack of time management, etc)?

When do I learn best? What setting do I learn best in (i.e: library, home, etc.)?


Services offered

Chemistry Tutors Biochemistry Tutors AP English Tutors Classics Tutors British Literature Help Tutors College Essays Help Tutors English Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Shakespeare Tutors Technical Writing Training AP Psychology Test Prep Psychology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Biology Tutors Neurobiology Tutors IB Tutors Private Tutors