Linguistic Leaps Tutoring

Linguistic Leaps Tutoring

5.0 (3)
9 hires on Tutors.com

About this tutor

I am a current Bryn Mawr college undergraduate (Senior) with a double major in Latin and German, and a minor in Comparative Literature. I have been studying Latin for 15 years now, and German for 3. I have tutored English for 5 years as well! I offer tutoring for Latin, German, and English/English Literature.

I absolutely love language! If I could, I would learn every language in the world. I want to spend the rest of my life teaching languages, and helping students fall in love with Latin and German the same way I did.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Newark, DE 19711
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Lynn Hawthorne

    Hannah was very knowledgeable and patient with my son. He enjoyed working with college student.

  • Emily Matticoli

    Hannah is awesome! She provided exactly the help my son needed in his Latin 1 class. We highly recommend hiring Hannah for tutoring! Her help gets results and she is great to work with!

  • Emily Matticoli

    I am so grateful to have connected with Hannah when my son needed help with his Latin class. Her expertise and availability are outstanding; she even went above and beyond and communicated directly with my son's teacher. If you are looking for a tutor who is great to work with and gets results, look no further and hire Hannah!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first figure out where the student is with the language, and where the student would like to be: from a couple years of study to starting out new, from an unspecified amount of time to just a couple of weeks for a test. 

I figure out the dialect the student is learning or wants to learn (this really only applies to Latin,) and sort out issues with textbooks or other schooling. I own many textbooks already, so sometimes they line up nicely. I can also use materials I've made up myself. I send over my policies and we get started learning!


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I'm a senior at Bryn Mawr College, double majoring in German and Latin and minoring in Comparative Literature. I've tutored students from age 5 to highschool (and even adults!) for several years.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with students who need general help to improve their language skills both in the target language and in English, students who want help with vocabulary for the SAT or spelling bees, students who need extra help to prepare for specific tests in school, and students who want to start learning from scratch. I've worked with the students's teachers specifically, and helped parents understand the options for teaching from the beginning too. I've worked with adults who are studying for much bigger exams such as TOEFL or IELTS as well. 


Services offered

German Tutors Latin Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Foreign Language Tutors Linguistics Tutoring Help Literary Analysis Tutors Translation Trainers