AKW Editing

AKW Editing

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I have a law degree and 7 years of experience as a trial lawyer in addition to 3 years of experience teaching English to elementary school students at the American School of Madrid. During my time as a teacher, I also tutored people of all ages in English. I graduated Magna Cum Laude from Duke University with a major in Literature and Cultural Studies and a minor in History and Spanish. I am fluent in Spanish and have extensive experience teaching English to Spanish-speaking children and adults. In my time as a trial lawyer, I have written countless motions and briefs and have edited colleagues' court pleadings. I am available to tutor adults and children in English, Literature, and Spanish. I am also available to edit and proofread essays and other documents. I enjoy editing and proofreading most of all.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Washington, DC 20011
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

In the first session, I get to know my new student and assess his or her individual needs. I ask my new student what s(he) hopes to improve upon and together we create a lesson plan. If the new student hires me to edit or proofread essays or other documents, we begin the first session by reviewing the document together and I explain my method. I encourage feedback from my new student so that s(he) has the most positive experience with me possible.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I graduated Magna Cum Laude from Duke University in 2002. I majored in Literature and Cultural Studies and minored in History and Spanish. While at Duke, I was a volunteer tutor with America Reads. I was honored with memership in the Phi Beta Kappa society. After college, I moved to Madrid, Spain, and worked for three years as a teacher at the American School of Madrid. I taught pre-Kindergarten and first grade classes of American, Spanish, and international students. While at the American School of Madrid, I tutored children and adults of all ages in various subjects, including English, Math, History, and English as a Second Language. I am fluent in Spanish. I graduated Cum Laude from the American University Washington College of Law in 2008 and hold a law degree. I am barred in the District of Columbia and Maryland and have been a trial lawyer for seven years. I enjoy composing motions and other court pleadings and editing my colleagues' work. I also enjoy advising law students on their careers.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$25 per hour


How did you get started teaching?

I first started teaching as a volunteer for America Reads in 2000 when I was a student at Duke University.


What types of students have you worked with?

Children and adults of all ages.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I am working on a novel that is set in Dubrovnik, Croatia. I have had the opportunity to travel to Dubrovnik multiple times and, while there, have tutored a young Croatian girl, primarily in English as a Second Language.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a tutor in your area of expertise?

Look for a tutor who is focused on the individual needs of the student.


What questions should students think through before talking to tutors about their needs?

Students should assess their strengths and weaknesses and choose three areas where they need improvement to be properly prepared for the first session with a tutor. It's always good to achieve results quickly!


Services offered

American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors English Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Proofreading Tutors