Personal Tutoring

Personal Tutoring

5.0 (3)
6 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
5 years in business

About this tutor

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Westport, CT 06880
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Angie Turnipseed

  • Jenine Morledge

    Julian is great, highly recommend

  • Manel Maxilus

    Julian is a genius in Math. First time I was tutored by him, he explained me everything about my work and made sure that I understand them. I highly recommend Julian to be your Math tutor, and you won’t regret it. However, I look forward for him to be my tutor whenever I get stuck in Math.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I usually start with a free half hour consultation/lesson. Depending on how that goes, we'll discuss if/how we should to schedule future lessons.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I scored an 800 on the SAT Math 2 subject exam, and the Math section on the general SAT. Additionally, I scored a 5 on the AP Calculus test BC, with a subscore of 5 for the AB portion. 

I scored the same perfect scores for the SAT 2 US History exam, and the AP USH exam respectively.

I'm a former two-time CT state champion in chess. I'm currently ranked in the top 50 nationally for my age, and my peak rating is 2006. I placed 6th in Nationals, and have experiance both as a chess tutor, and as a tournament director for the USCF.

Latin. A bit of a niche field, but I have 4 Gold Medals from the National Latin Exam, and a 4 in the AP Latin exam. I've read Caesar, Horace, Catullus, and Virgil. 

Right now, I'm studying at Georgetown University in DC But I still play chess as a hobby, and I can refresh my mind on previous academics subjects whenever necessary.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Online lesson fees are $40 an hour. 


How did you get started teaching?

Other than assisting teachers and professors in highschool and college, I wanted to take on a side job in highschool, and I found that teaching suited me.


What types of students have you worked with?

Mostly younger students, whose parents want help improving their scholastic testing scores. But I'm open (and have previously done so) to working with older adults as well.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

One of my recent students has nearly improved beyond my chess rating. It's getting tough to keep up. She's younger, but plays internationally with success.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Look for someone capable, affordable, and trustworthy.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Just try to approach a lesson positively, looking to learn. A productive attitude leads to improvement.

Also , feel free to share concerns about the lesson plans/material. I'm your tutor, not your professors; this is a private service designed to be convenient for you.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Algebra Tutors Latin Tutors PSAT Tutors SAT Prep Tutors SAT Math Tutors SAT Reading Tutors SAT Test Prep College Admissions Coaches ACT Prep Tutors ACT English Tutors ACT Math Help Tutors ACT Reading Help Tutors