Rising Stars Tutoring

Rising Stars Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I am a certified educator in Connecticut. I have passed my Praxis exam (5039) and have my 7-12th grade certification (015) in English. I have received my bachelor's in English and my master's degree in teaching, both from Quinnipiac University. During my graduate year, I was in Quinnipiac's Master of Arts in Teaching program. I graduated with a 3.74 GPA in my undergraduate year and a 3.95 GPA in my graduate year.

I was a substitute teacher and student-teacher for the 2019-2020 school year. During this time, I have been able to become proficient in using Zoom to deliver lessons to students due to COVID-19. I am also Google Classroom-knowledgeable. 

I was invited to join Sigma Tau Delta during my undergraduate career. Sigma Tau Delta is a nationally-recognized English honor society.

My experiences with both English and teaching make me well-suited to tutor your child and help them catch up to where they need to be at their grade level. 

Linkedin:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/nivea-acosta-34b467187/

Up until I was 17-years-old, I wanted to be a veterinarian. I strongly disliked school until I met a teacher who changed my life. She inspired me to become an educator just like her and now I am able to give back to other students and motivate them just like she did for me. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Stratford, CT 06614
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Edwin Paredes

    The online tutoring was great! Ms. Acosta was very professional and demonstrated a great amount of patience with my son, who is dyslexic. The distance learning due to COVID-19 was difficult for my son but the one-on-one sessions with Ms. Acosta got him back on track. I recommend her to anyone and everyone!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

The first step is assessing where the student is at in relation to their grade level. This can be achieved through either past performance exams done by previous tutors and through said student's school or done with a performance exam given by myself.

Once I assess where the student is at, we will begin working on the skills they need to improve on.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

BA in English from Quinnipiac University ('19)

MA in Teaching from Quinnipiac University ('20)

Passed the Praxis 5039 exam

Completed 7-12th grade 015 teaching certification.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My tutoring rate is $30 an hour.


How did you get started teaching?

I began my teaching journey during my sophomore year of college when I entered Quinnipiac University's Master of Arts in Teaching program.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students are varying levels and needs. I have worked with high school students who needed IEPs and 504s.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Do not be afraid to be honest with what you need help improving on. We're here to help you achieve your full potential so take advantage of that opportunity.


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors Short Novel Tutors Shakespeare Tutors Reading Tutors Proofreading Tutors Poetry Writing Classes Persuasive Writing Tutors