Ed Math Tutoring

Ed Math Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

1. I offer any first time clients a first session at half off my regular rate, as a trial session in order to find out if there is student-tutor compatibility and satisfaction on the clients side.

2. I ask all my clients to fill out a one page questionnaire either in digital or hard copy form so I can get to know them as best as I could, such as their major interests, their academic strengths and weaknesses, and their hobbies.  I draw from their existing knowledge and build upon it through similes, metaphors, and explanations that they find easy to understand.

3. I was distinguished at my previous job as a Peer Math Tutor at Manchester Commnity College. I was disinguished for my excellent ability to reach all sorts of students from all different backgrounds and deliver easy to understand explanations. Not to mention the high amount of positive feedback I received directly from the students. 

I live for the "Ohhhh" moments, followed by a smile, that students experience when a concept makes sense to them. Seriously, there is nothing more rewarding than that and I work tirelessly to acheive those moments. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Hartford, CT 06119
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

1. Discuss the major objective that the students would like to reach.

2. Have the student fill out a questionnaire regarding their general interests, hobbies, their academic strengths and weaknesses, their best learning method (visual, auditory, or kinetic), and how they accomplish their goals. I'll use that information on how to best approach the tutoring sessions. 

3. Develop a general plan on how to attain that objective with the student using the SMART (Specific, Measurable, Attaiable, Relevant, Time-based) plan method or a System of Learning if the student is less goal-oriented and more task oriented.

4. Check up on their progress depending on the time we agree upon to do so. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Education:

>High School Diploma: William Hall High School; 3.5/4 GPA; High Honors. 2010-2014

>Associate of Arts: Computer Science; Manchester Community College; 3.43/4 GPA; Honors. 2018-2019.

>Attended UConn, Storrs as an Electrical Engineering major for a Bachelors. Transferred out during Junior year in 2017.

Training:

>Manchester Community College: Peer Math Tutor training. Attained level 1 Tutoring Certification. Feb - Aug 2019. 

Informal Experience:

I always found myself explaining and helping out my classmates during a lot of classes both at MCC and UConn. I also tutored my adolescent cousin in the summer of 2017 in English, Math, and Science. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

First session:

$21/hr

Remaining sessions:

$42/hr + $0.20/mile (if having to travel further than 10 miles)


How did you get started teaching?

I got started with the Academic Success Center at Manchester Community College as a Peer Math Tutor. I was quick to pick up the job, and received a lot of positive feedback from students. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked mostly with college students ranging from 18 year olds to 65 year olds, all from differing backgrounds and walks of life pursuing their Associates. 

I also tutored my adolescent cousin who struggled with behavioral issues. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I had a student who was struggling in his College Algebra class. He had a shaky math background and failed the first exam but decided against dropping the class (which I always respect). I started working with him weekly on his homework and explained concepts better to him than even the professor couldn't. Eventually his grade in the class skyrocketted as we followed the plan I laid out for him. I truly could not be more proud of the student for putting in the work and hustle necessary to not only fortify his math background but also finish the class with an 82%. Truly inspiring. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would advice the student to realistically asses their academic background and their strengths and weaknesses. Even write it down, as it makes finding a tutor that bolsters their strengths and actively works to reduce their weaknesses is the optimal strategy. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

>What do I like in school vs what classes do I do well in?

>Compare the answers to the class they're getting tutored in. 


Services offered