Just One Tutor

Just One Tutor

5.0 (3)
1 hire on Tutors.com

About this tutor

     I'm a newly retired New York State certified teacher with 35 years of experience in public and private schools.  I am certified in PAF (Preventing Academic Failure) which is an Orton Gillingham based program for teaching spelling, reading and handwriting. I have successfully worked with many students through a multi-sensory, individualized approach.  

     I enjoy helping children feel successful.  Each learner is unique so I tailor my approach to your child's strengths.  I have worked in general education, and settings with special needs populations.  I tutor all elementary subjects.  In reading I use the PAF program which is based on the Orton Gillingham methodology.  Through a comfortable, engaging learning experience, your child will receive individualized educational support.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Brewster, NY 10509
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Sadia A.

    We hired Just One Tutor over the summer for my 6 y.o. daughter. Lovely teaching style! Always one time. Engaged my daughter the whole lesson. Recognised strength/weakness early. Lessons plans alway ready with supplies. Organized. We will be hiring again this summer!

  • Theresa DeMattia

    I have had the pleasure to have worked with Julianne for over 20 years as a 2nd grade teacher. She is an extremely kind, cooperative and conscientious colleague. I highly recommend her for tutoring any student.

  • Sabrina Adorno

    She engages with my daughter online and captures her interests in doing the subjects that she’s not so fond of. With Julie by her side for a year now, my daughter has gained so much confidence, and understands fully what is current in her subjects. I highly recommend Julie!




FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Upon agreeing to work with a client, I collect information from the parent/guardian about the child as a student.   During the first session, I gain insights about the students strengths and weaknesses, learning style, and interests.  


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a New York State Teaching certificate as well as 75 credits beyond my M.S.Ed.   I am certified in PAF (Preventing Academic Failure) and have used the Wilson Program for grades K-2 called  Fundations.  I have taught all grade levels from N-8th grade.  


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My fees range from $35.00 - $95.00.  If I'm working on homework help or tutoring a group of students, it starts at the lower end.  If I'm working with a child using a special program, 60 minute sessions or traveling a longer distance, the fee may be higher.  


How did you get started teaching?

As a child my favorite thing to do was play school.  As a young teen, I babysat and worked as a summer camp counselor.  I've always liked school and loved learning.  I've always had a good rapport with children and have always believed that education levels the playing field in life.  


What types of students have you worked with?

Most of my clients have been elementary school students who needed a boost with their reading skills and math strategies.  I have also worked in a nursery school with children as young as 3 years old.  I've worked with gifted and talented students, students with learning issues, ADHD students and students who did not speak English.  


Services offered

Elementary Math Tutors Handwriting Tutors Homeschool Tutors & Teachers Homework Help Tutors Math Tutors Personal Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Phonics Tutors Private Tutors Reading Tutors Special Education Tutors Special Needs Tutors Spelling Tutors Study Skills Tutors Summer Tutors Teacher Tutors Writing Tutors English Tutors