The Buss Stop

The Buss Stop

5.0 (1)
1 employee
13 years in business

About this tutor

I am a licensed math teacher. I have 13 years of classroom experience teaching Algebra 1 through Calculus. I have worked with students of varying ability levels including second language, students with learning challenges, and honors level students.

I have a variety of resources to pull from in order to provide appropriate assessment and practice.

I love math.  I’m definitely a math nerd, and I enjoy the time I get to spend guiding students to see the beauty in mathematics.  

I have always enjoyed working with students in a one-on-one environment.  I feel that most learning comes from conversation, and I take pride in developing meaningful conversation around mathematics, making connections to content that has been learned previously, and extending to content that will be learned in future courses.

Tutoring allows me the opportunity to present mathematics in a variety of ways, specific to the needs of my students in addition to helping students understand the methods their teachers prefer.

I take pride in my students and the work they do to persevere in their education.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Aurora, CO 80016
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Suyzel

    Candace was able to help my daughter with her 6th grade math and explain it in a differnt way then my daughters teacher so that my daughter could understand. She was very patient and made sure to clearly breakdown all the steps that needed to take place. I would highly recommend Candace if your child needs math help.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When starting with a new student, I like to first find out who they are.  What are they interested in?  What are they good at? What challenges them?  

I want to know what their experience has been in their math education.  What topics came more easily, compared to the topics which presented the most challenged.  

I also try to gauge what their goals are for procuring a tutor.  

I then present them with a variety of practice problems to assess their level of understanding in multiple topics.  

Once this informal assessment has been done, I will either let the student/parent determine the topics we work on, or I will follow an appropriate curriculum based on their stated needs.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Master of Arts degree in Curriculum and Instruction in Elementary and Secondary Mathematics Education.  I have a current Professional Teaching License.  I am trained in Core Plus Mathematics (this is an investigative curriculum), in addition to Advanced Placement Calculus AB.

I am also trained to work with students with learning disabilities, second-language learners, and twice exceptional students.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$40 per hour for elementary school math

$50 per hour for middle school math, pre-algebra, and Algebra 1

$60 per hour for Algebra 2, Trigonometry, Pre-Calculus, and College Algebra


How did you get started teaching?

Teaching is my second career.  My undergraduate degree is in Interior Design, and I found I did not have a passion for it.  I had experience working in childcare, and felt drawn to pursue education.  After earning my Masters Degree, I was hired to teach in a Title 1 school, working with a high-needs population of students.  From that experience, I learned to anticipate misunderstandings with both mathematics and language, and how to explain content in a few different ways.  I now work in a private high school with students who challenge me to dig deeper into the “why” of mathematics.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with second-language learners, students with mild to moderate special needs, students with processing disorders, twice exceptional students, and honors level students.  I have worked with students who love, and are passionate about math, as well as those for whom math is a foreign language.  My experience is with students whose abilities span from very low to very high.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I spent the past 6 months tutoring a student in Honors Algebra 2.  When I started working with her, she was desperately trying to hold on to a C- for the first semester.  We worked together 1.5 hours per week, and I’m very proud to say that she is currently sitting at a solid A for the second semester.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find someone who: fits your personality; explains things differently than your teacher; will have minimal time conflicts; can provide resources; is willing to work with the resources you provide; has experience working with students whose needs are similar to yours.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

When was the last time you understood something in math?

When did you first start to struggle with math?

Why do you think you are struggling now?

What kind of textbook do you use?

What are you hoping to achieve from tutoring? Short term vs. long term goals?


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors