Mrs. L's Tutoring

Mrs. L's Tutoring

5.0 (1)
4 years in business

About this tutor

I've worked with young people and adults in many capacities since the 1980's.  I currently work as a high school special education teacher for students with learning disabilities, behavior struggles, and other related differences.  

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Castle Rock, CO 80109
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Brooke Shepard

    Easy to work with. Understood the assignment and explained in better terms. Great feedback on essays and always up for suggestions.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Introduce myself, ask them a little about themselves as a learner and as a person.  Ask what their goal is for the session and long term.  Look over the assignment/process/task, ask questions about what the instructor said...then get started!I


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am currently a high school special education teacher.  My license is for ages 5-21.  I have training in elementary school curriculum (all areas). I am highly qualified in high school English and have a secondary (grades 6-12) social studies license.  I have two teenagers of my own.  I was previously a preschool teacher, an elementary school (ages 5-13) camp counselor, an adult corporate teambuilding trainer, and a teacher for students in an alternative setting.  I have taught math, science, social studies and English at the high school level to students with learning differences.  I have also worked as an academic case manager and in-house tutor for students at my school, both those with a disability and general education students.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Depends on needs of student and content.  $15-25 an hour is my usual rate.


How did you get started teaching?

I come from a family of educators and have been involved in teaching others since I was young myself.  My first education degree was in Social Studies education and I later earned a degree in special education to gain more skills to work with students of all abilities.  I enjoy helping students learn and seeing their growth.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with all types of students from ages 5 through young adult/college.  Many of my current students have learning differences, autism, ADD, or other struggles that keep them from fully accessing the curriculum easily.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

One of my former students contacted me last summer to supervise a college test, as he was home for a funeral and had to take a final exam.  He was so very apologetic that he was bothering me--I was so flattered that he thought of me and so thankful I was able to help.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Ask the teacher what classes or topics they most often teach and how they most often approach helping someone.  Share as many specifics of what you need as possible, for example, if it is an assignment, what task do you need to complete?


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What are my goals for this assignment and long-term?

What help do I need--editing?  Planning?  

The more a student can identify what they are struggling with, the more quickly a tutor can help.


Services offered

Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors ESL Tutors Expository Writing Lessons American Government Tutors American History Tutors Ancient and Medieval Heritage Tutors Geography Tutors World Civilization Tutors World History Tutors Social Studies Tutors Modern World Tutors Human Geography Tutors History Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors