Suttle's Scholars, English Tutoring

Suttle's Scholars, English Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

I've been working with students from the elementary level up to the high school level for over 10 years. I currently am an English Teacher and work with all types of students. I've been successfull finding the best tools and strategies for students with IEP's, 504 plans, or students who have diagnosed mental or physical disabilties. I've also worked with kids who simply need a bit of help or who want an upper hand and are ensuring they have skills to put them in the top of their class. 

Currently I am full time in one of Colorado's youth correctional facilities, however I've worked in public schools and as a private tutor for families in their home. I'd love to get to know you and your child in order to ensure they have a strong education as well as find confidence in their own abilities.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/bre-suttle-640a8289/

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Denver, CO 80226
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When I meet a student, I'll ask them to complete an assessment chosen based on their parent's concerns (or the youth's concerns if old enough to articulate). Assessments are quite literally seen as pre-tests, quick but to the point and yeilding obvious deficits.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a teaching license in English and have minored in English during my bachelor's degree. Having worked with Denver Public Schools, and now with the Department of Youth Services, I have gleened great professional development on the ability to teach reading and writing so that students can reach a level of mastery. I am proud to say that I've had the experience of learning from Kylene Beers and other experts in the field of reading intervention and data analysis.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $20 an hour, but am open to negotiations depending on the student's need, location and time frame, if any.


How did you get started teaching?

I knew that I wanted to be able to teach language arts as a 'retirement job', however I wasn't sure if I wanted to go into law enforcement or corrections first. After much soul-searching and career development, I knew that my calling is in teaching. So, I took the experiences from mentoring, coaching, and being Auntie Bre to ten kids- and became a teacher.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with students who have IEP's and 504 plans. I've also had the priviledge of working with all ages from elementary to 18/19 years old. I've worked with students who have decided to earn their GED rather than a diploma. I've worked with students who are diagnosed with ADHD and are with or without medication. My current students are incarcerated. In short, I am more than happy to work with any student who has their own struggle, as we all do.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

A recent event that I am fond of was our last graduation where many of my students who struggled with reading had become stronger and more efficient after a few months of hard work and grace. Once they got past their own fears of not being able to learn, my boys realized that they could actually learn anything and become great at anything. 


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Phonics Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Writing Tutors