Academic Research

Academic Research

5.0

About this tutor

20 years experience as a research librarian, assisting undergraduate and graduate students frame a thesis or research proposal, assist in developing research strategies, edit expository and academic papers, and acquire study skills in preparation for major exams. Extensive experience with second language acquisition, and developing formal academic English skills in reading, composition and conversational English. 

My wife and I recently completed a two year residential project in the Tibetan Himalayas, helping reduce poverty and improve the well-being of children in a rural village. Probably the highlight of my life so far.

I continue to develop mentoring relationships with former students in Asia, Eastern Europe and North America where I have lived and worked. I find real joy and satisfaction in the long term growth of young people who are working towards real world goals.  Language skills last a life time and bring great value, opening doors of opportunity.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Westminster, CO 80021
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Students find that I personalize skill development, helping them acquire confidence in reading and writing. I also tailor tutoring to the specific assignments and timeline of each student. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a professional researcher and educator. My undergraduate degree includes a double major in Social Sciences and English. I also have a Masters of Science in Curruculum and Assessment and hold four professional licenses in teaching. You can tell from my picture that I am older with a life time of experience. My doctoral work, in the field of Business Administration, deals with Information Management. For eleven years I developed a digital library as a research librarian.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I am more than happy to work with individuals, yet I find that when friends and peers work together in small study groups they enjoy learning together and make quicker progress. I charge $25 per 90 minute session, yet will lower that to $15 per session for groups of 3 to 5. I do not charge for online services when editing.


How did you get started teaching?

I have taught a long time - for 35 years, as a teacher, professor, and administrator. My experiences include both private and public education, and in Asia, Europe and The United States.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have taught middle school and high school students, undergraduates in the social sciences, and graduate students in the social sciences and education.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

My wife and I were invited to live and work in a Tibetan village for two years. I spent a number of years researching the economic history of the Southern Silk Road, and our project focused on developing sustainable businesses. When parents can live and work at home, and not become migrant workers, their children can thrive and grow. After establishing four businesses, we accepted an invitation to live in a war zone, where I served as a high school headmaster. Those young people are near and dear to my heart.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

My gift to young people is the gift of expressing yourself clearly and concisely. If you want to work closely with an adult, pick one you trust and who can encourage you to do well.


Services offered

English Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Essay Writing Tutors College Essays Help Tutors