Primaria Tutorial

Primaria Tutorial

5(1 review)
Offers online services
Offers online services

About

I am a fantastic tutor. I have a degree in Mathematics from USC and a current CA single subject teaching credential in Math, K-12 plus adults. I have over 30 years experience teaching junior and senior high school students. I am patient and clear in my explanations. I work hard to overcome math anxiety.


Highlights

Hired 3 times
1 employee
24 years in business
Serves Yorba Linda , CA
Offers online services

Payment methods

Cash, Check, Venmo, Zelle

Photos and videos

  • At beach
  • Closeup

  • Reviews

    0
    0 reviews
    5
    NaN%
    4
    NaN%
    3
    NaN%
    2
    NaN%
    1
    NaN%

    Karen J.

    We are not quite ready for tutoring. Probably in late may or June.
    ... Show more
    March 30, 2022
    Hired on Tutors

    Frequently asked questions

    I like to meet a potential student and a parent and discuss the students' current experience with their math class(es).  Usually we go over assigned homework to get a feel for the students knowledge and skills.  If reviewing for a test or quiz, I can present sample problems to help the student refresh their knowledge. 

    I have more than 30 years experience working with grade school and junior high and high school students.   My degree is a BA in Mathematics from USC and I hold a clear single subject teaching credential obtained through UCI.  My credential is current.  I continue my education through seminars,  web courses,  conferences and other math oriented activities. 

    I charge $40 per hour (check, cash, Zelle or Venmo) for one hour tutoring in my Yorba Linda home.  I will not work less than one hour, it takes that long at least to build an understanding of our work.  I will often suggest a 90 minute or a two hour period for times of major review. 

    I started teaching after working for five years in retail and personnel training.  I discovered that I loved the training aspect of my work and I have always loved math.  So, it seemed natural to go back to school, get my single subject credential in math(meaning I can legally teach pre-K through grade 12 plus adult math classes) and begin my teaching career.   I have retired from full time teaching in 2020 and now spend my time tutoring students who need extra help or encouragement.    

    I have worked with many types of students but most have been mainstreamed classroom. I have worked with both male and female, although the past many years has been at an all girls school. I have taught and tutored all ages from 5 years through 45 years. I am adapt at working with math anxiety students. These students need special support and patience.  

    A mother sent me a text to tell me her daughter scored a 95% on her semester final after we had spent just two sessions working with her as a new "client". The girl needed some review of material but mostly she needed confidence in her abilities and a clearer method of organization of her knowledge.  That text was the best gift I could have received.    

    Meet the potential tutor and make sure you can work together.   Make certain you can understand each other's needs and expectations. Make certain your tutor loves the subject. Do not hire a college student just because they have taken several years of math. Ask them what experience they have in TEACHING math and most importantly DO THEY LOVE MATH AND CAN THEY SHARE THAT LOVE of the subject.  

    Do they take good notes in class? Do they stay current on homework? Do they respect their teacher? Do they fear test taking or do they approach a test as any other math assignment? Do they have confidence in themselves?

    Services offered

    Math