Allie's Academic Tutoring

Allie's Academic Tutoring

5.0 (1)

About this tutor

Hi there! I graduated from UCLA last year and am taking several gap year(s) as a science teacher/healthcare worker before the next stage of my education.

Through the company Devon Review, I have prepped over 15 students for the SAT, ACT, and SAT Subject tests. I majored in Microbiology and minored in English, so I have a wide variety of academic experience that I hope can be helpful to you: Biology, Chemistry, Elementary/Middle School/High School Math, English Literature/Analysis/Writing, Application essay critique, miscellaneous test prep.

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/allison-ong-1033b097/

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Sacramento, CA 95819
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Kayla Teng

    Allison helped me so much in my AP Biology class. She clarified any concepts I was confused on and created study guides for me before every test. She truly cares about her students and is more than qualified to teach numerous subjects. I highly recommend her for any kind of tutoring.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like having a conversation first about the student's strengths, weaknesses, and learning style. Next, we'll do a simple concept review or answer any general questions the student may have. Finally, we'll jump right into practice problems! If the student is really struggling, we'll do a couple guided problems. Then, I prefer to let the student work independently; we will check answers and review missed questions on regular intervals.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

- B.S. in Microbiology, minor in English from UCLA

- 4 years in college journalism

- 5+ years in youth mentorship & science education

- 1 year SAT/SAT II/ACT tutoring


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Online tutoring through Zoom: $25/hour

In-person tutoring within 15 miles: $35/hour

In-person tutoring 15 miles +: $45/hour; variable by atual distance


How did you get started teaching?

I love working with kids and the outdoors. That is how I got started working as a camp counselor for my hometown.

After 5 summers as a camp counselor, I started a more formal teaching position with a company providing after-school biology enrichment in Orange County. I love getting kids excited about science through hands-on experiments and dissections.


What types of students have you worked with?

- Elementary

- Middle school

- High school (SAT, SAT II, ACT)


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Volunteering at a nonprofit medical clinic in Mexico.

Stingray dissection for a marine biology class.


Services offered

ACT Prep Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors American Literature Tutors AP Art History Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors AP English Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Art History Tutors Basic Math Tutors Biology Tutors CAHSEE Test Prep Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors College Essays Help Tutors College Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Ecology Tutoring Elementary Algebra Tutors