Math And English Tutor

Math And English Tutor

5.0(1 review)
Offers online services
Offers online services

About

My passion to help my peers started in elementary school when I was selected to be a peer mediator, where I helped students resolve any conflicts they faced in school. My role as a mediator continued into through junior high school, and led into tutoring in high school. With over a decade of experience, I have learned and grown through every student I have worked with.

I love how every student I work with is a unique encounter. I enjoy being able to assist students in finding methods that work for them and help them with what they want to improve on. Not only do I like sharing the knowledge I have with my students, but I also like that I learn something new through each of them.


Details

Hired 6 times
1 employee
4 years in business
Serves Fremont, CA
Offers online services

Social media


Reviews

0.0
0 reviews
5
0%
4
0%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%

Jasmine K.

She has been a great tutor for my daughter. My daughter was struggling with her English homework and writing assignments, but she has improved well since Shakthi started tutoring her.
... Show more
February 05, 2020
Hired on Tutors

Frequently asked questions

I fisrt discuss with the student's parents to get a better idea of what areas to work on with the student and then, in order to better understand the sudent's needs and level, I assess them through appropriate material depending on what area(s) they need help with. This will help me figure out how to proceed in order to make sure I'm helping the student in the best way. 

I have collectively ten years of experience working with my peers and a large range of students in conflict-resolution, elementary math and all levels of english including (but not limited to) grammar, reading, writing, SAT/ACT English and Essay, etc. I also recieved a 96% (8-8-7) on my SAT Essay and was placed in the highest english level my first year of college. 

My pricing mainly ranges depending on: The grade/ college level of the student, and the intensity of the subject the student needs tutoring in. Normally, I charge per hour and my average prices are as follows: K-6 is $20, 7th-12th grade is $30, college and beyond is $40. I do, however, take into consideration the affordability of my students and am willing to work to reach a reasonable price for both myself and my students.

My teaching career, speciically, started when I volunteered for a program called "Reading Buddies" at a library about 6 years ago. My passion and journey to help my peers with any form of conflicts they may face, however, started when I was in 5th grade as a peer mediator. My role as a peer mediator for four years is what motivated me to want to become a tutor.

I've worked with students who are non-native speakers of english, students with ADHD, a peer with Dyslexia, students who need help with elementary math/ english, everyday homework help, essay-writing, SAT English/Essay, etc. 

I was browsing through the SF airport's indoor museum recently and the evolution of air hostess attire really intrigued me!

I am a student myself, and what I look for in a teacher is what I would advice other students to look for. I usually work well with teachers who have a good amount of experience working with students, but even if they do not have the experience, they must have the passion. I also like teachers who are willing to listen and learn from their students. These are the qualities I would suggest looking for when hiring a teacher.


Services offered