Science, Math & English Tutoring!

Science, Math & English Tutoring!

5.0
7 years in business

About this tutor

Hello all! I'm Eva. I graduated from University of the Pacific (UOP) where I received my M.S. in Molecular Biology & Medical Entomology. I also went to UOP for my undergraduate degrees in Sports Medicine & Biology, also minoring in Spanish. During my time at Pacific, I've partaken in both on-campus and off-campus organizations include nutrition and medicine
clubs, volunteer work, and tutoring services. Moreover, I have written and edited national
grants for funding and have spoken at several nation-wide conferences regarding my graduate work
and am currently in the process of publishing more scientific papers.
While in my undergraduate and graduate careers, I’ve tutored a myriad of students
ranging from the elementary level to the collegiate level. I have several years of experience
tutoring sciences (microbiology, anatomy, physiology, biology, biotechnology, parasitology, entomology, chemistry,
etc), math (elementary math, pre-algebra, algebra I & II), Spanish, English, History, Psychology, and writing. Furthermore, I have mentored and guided high school students through college essay writing and SAT
subject test prep. I’ve also taught English as a second language to Spanish, Chinese, and Korean
native speaking students. I am passionate about sciences and enjoy teaching and tutoring
these subjects to students who need help with these tough courses in a way he or she can
best understand and digest the material. It is my philosophy to prioritize my students’ needs and methods of
learning and adjusting my teaching methods to each individual. 

Currently, I work as a scientist at a biotechnology company in the Bay Area – mostly working in gene expression and fun stuff like that!
Fun facts: has been playing piano for over 20 years (teaching piano for 10 years now); enjoys playing volleyball, soccer, and swimming; loves scuba diving, boba, and watching basketball.

My biggest passion in life is seeing someone achieve their goal - whether it be something as little as undertanding a physics formula to acheiving their goal weight. That passion is what drives my patience and determination to work with my students as long as is needed for them to acheive their academic goals. When a student struggling in a concept finally reaches the point of understanding, it's truly rewarding for both of us!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When meeting a potential student, I like to start off asking about his or her interests and hobbies to find some common ground and get to know them before diving right into a lesson. I also like asking the student how he or she learns best (visual, auditory, etc) and implement that learning style into my lessons. After understanding what the student's goals are, I will come up with some strategies and a timeline/gameplan for how we will acheive those goals together.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have 9 years of paid tutoring experience. Having worked with students from pre-k all the way to adults, I enjoy teaching and tutoring and have had done so alongside my academic and professional working careers. On a more advanced level, I have taught a college-leveled physiology course to pre-med, pre-dentistry, and pre-pharmacy majors. Now, I tutor part-time anywhere from 4-15 hours a week.


Services offered

Anatomy Tutors AP Biology Tutors Biology Tutors Biotechnology Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Epidemiology Training Tutors Genetics Tutors Laboratory Tutors Microbiology Tutors Physiology Tutors Endocrinology Training Tutors English Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Phonics Tutors Proofreading Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors